Tough ask for Buchanan in Richard Kitt Memorial

A VICTORIAN champion at the distance, Andy Buchanan faces a daunting task as he chases a second victory in the Richard Kitt Memorial 1500m at this weekend’s Bendigo International Madison carnival.

The Bendigo University star will give limit marker Hunter Gill a 2.20 minute start in Saturday night’s Flack Advisory-backed classic at the Tom Flood Sports Centre.

Buchanan won the event in 2009.

The first three in Saturday’s race will pocket $200, $80 and $40 respectively.

Buchanan starts off 2.20 and will chase clubmates Kye Jenkyn, 2.03; Matt Heislers, 2.00; Will McCaig and Lee McCullagh off 1.55.

The Heislers family has had great success in the Kitt Memorial.

David won in 2013, and daughter Emily won two years ago.

Last year’s winner, Isaac Everett from Bendigo Harriers will start off the 1.35 mark.

Other runners to watch include South Bendigo’s Darcy Nelson, 1.30; Bendigo Harriers’ Lachlan Carr, 1.27, and Anne Buckley, 27; Eaglehawk’s Gabe Rusbridge, 1.03; and University’s Russ Jenkins, 1.20, and Charles Chambers and Ross Douglas from the 15-second mark.

A field of 24 includes Bendigo Harriers clubmates Zahli Drummond, Jackson Eadon and Tiffany Bussem-Jorgensen, as well as University’s Melissa Douglas and Jazlin Fear, South Bendigo’s Aaron Norton, and Kevin Shanahan from Eaglehawk.

The Richard Kitt Memorial was first run in the 1976-77 season and was won by Steven Craven.

Names on the honour board include dual winners Leigh Nolan and Ian Wellard, as well as Leigh Purtill, Libby Jones, Brady Threlfall, David Kitt, Keith Macdonald, and many more.