Ethan Crackel and Jordan Macilwain win Magpies’ best and fairests

MIDFIELDER Ethan Crackel and goal shooter Jordan Macilwain have claimed Maryborough Football Netball Club’s top individual honours for 2017.

Crackel won his second consecutive Geoff Macilwain Medal as the club’s senior football best and fairest.

The consistent midfielder was a runaway winner of the award, polling 78 votes, well clear of runner-up Connor O’Shea (43).

Crackel also won the Richard Peart Memorial Award as voted by his senior footballing peers.

Cam Rinaldi was the Magpies leading goal kicker with 30.

Meanwhile, Macilwain scored her second A-grade netball award after a stellar season, which ended last weekend with representation in the North central team at the Netball Victoria State Title.

Macilwain, who was also the netball club person of the year, polled 35 votes, 10 clear of runner-up and her partner in goals Alicia Cassidy.

It was that pairing which tied for the best and fairest award, when Macilwain last won in 2014.

In other netball awards, twins Maggie and Ella Tranter tied for the 17-and-under netball best and fairest, ahead of runner-up Keely Hare.

It capped a magnificent season for Maggie Tranter, who was the Carol Sing medallist as this year’s league best and fairest,.

A full list of award winners follows:

Football: seniors – best and fairest: Ethan Crackel; runner-up: Connor O’Shea; most determined: Tom Roughead; most consistent: Matthew Coon; most improved: Connor Shea; leading goalkicker: Cam Rinaldi; coach’s award: Jack Chandler.

Reserves – best and fairest: Cameron Skinner; Richard Giles Memorial Award: Zac Polinelli; Carl Lawrence Memorial Award: Jack Chandler; coaches award: Patrick May.

Richard Peart Memorial Award (as voted by senior players): Ethan Crackel.

Netball: A-grade – best and fairest: Jordan Macilwain; runner-up: Alicia Cassidy.

B-grade – best and fairest: Tracey Calleja; runner-up: Eva Julian; coaches trophy: Sarah Lohman.

B-reserve – best and fairest: Chloe Dos Reis; runners-up: Bridgette Bates and Elise Macer.

17-and-under – best and fairest: Ella and Maggie Tranter; runner-up: Keely Hare.

Netball club person of the year: Jordan Macilwain.

Don Ferguson Memorial Award: Keely Hare.

AG Leech Meritorious Service Award: Alisha Chadwick.

Ben Prime Memorial Award: Sue Macilwain.

Maryborough Football Netball Club Best Club Person: Jamie Postle.

President’s award: Bernard May.