Blair Holmes and Heather Oliver win Sandhurst best and fairest awards

SKIPPER Blair Holmes and joint A-grade coach Heather Oliver have claimed Sandhurst’s top individual awards for BFNL season 2017.

Holmes polled 245 votes to win the senior best and fairest by 19 votes, from 2017 season recruit and leading goal kicker Andrew Collins (226).

Codie Price was third on 216, narrowly ahead of Lee Coghlan (214) and Joel Wharton (208).

Star ruckman Tim Martin (181), Brodie Montague (110), Joshua Hann (108), Kristian Height (102) and Jonathon Coghlan (84) rounded out the top 10.

For his efforts, Price won the most consistent award, while Pascale Craig was the most courageous.

Isaac Ruff was voted best first year player.

The under-18 best and fairest was won by Seb Spijkerman on 260 votes, ahead of Sean O’Farrell (226), Lars Casperson (194), Peter Coghlan (183) and Hugh Schaeche (165).

Meanwhile, Oliver capped a stellar year by adding the Dragons’ A-grade best and fairest win to her league best and fairest and premiership medal wins.

The dual Betty Thompson medallist polled 62 votes, 22 clear of runner-up Imogen Sexton.

Meg Williams won the coaches award and was third in the best and fairest count with 36 votes, three ahead of centre Brooke Bolton, with Kelsey Meade and Goal shooter Bec Smith tied on 21.

Oliver, who also won VNL club Melbourne University Lightning’s championship division best and fairest this season, claimed her first Betty Thompson Medal in 2015.

A remarkable year for Sandhurst’s netball teams included premiership wins in A-grade, B-grade and 17-and-under.

Rebecca Eade was a runaway winner of the 17-and-under best and fairest on 69 votes, with Keeley Jones the runner-up on 39.

Peter Watson was awarded best club person.

A full list of award winners follows:

Football: Seniors – best and fairest Blair Holmes; runner-up: Andrew Collins; most consistent: Codie Price; most courageous: Pascale Craig; best first year: Isaac Ruff; goal kicking: Andrew Collins.

Reserves – best and fairest: Jamie Staff; runner-up: Dylan Morris; most consistent: Ward Buckeridge; most courageous: Dylan Morris; coaches award: Will Long; goal kicking: Wayne Mitrovic.

Under-18 – best and fairest: Seb Spijkerman; runner-up: Sean O’Farrell’ most consistent: Jacob Murphy; most courageous: Darby Graham; coaches award: Lars Casperson; goal kicking: Jack Bouwmeester.

Perez Memorial Award for best club person: Peter Watson.

Netball: A-grade – best and fairest: Heather Oliver; runner-up: Imogen Sexton; coaches award: Meg Williams.

A-reserve – best and fairest: Gabriella Greene; runners-up: Sophie Shoebridge and Briona Giddings;  coaches award: Meg Kelly.

B-grade - best and fairest: Olivia Houlden; runner-up: Amy Van Heumen; coaches award: Abbey McCarthy.

B-reserve - best and fairest: Olivia Dullard; runner-up: Sarah McDonell and Rachael Gray; coaches award: Mia McConnachie.

17-and-under - best and fairest: Rebecca Eade; runner-up: Keeley Jones; coaches award: Bronte McConnachie.