Callaway, Dikkenberg win soccer's top awards

COLTS UNITED young gun Dylan Callaway has taken out two of the Bendigo Amateur Soccer League’s top awards.

The forward was last night awarded the James Anderson Medal as the division one men’s best and fairest player.

He also won the John Webb trophy for being the competition’s best player under-21.

Callaway, who enjoyed a stellar season up front for Colts, was also runner-up in the Golden Boot award for most goals scored in the season.

Trent Gladstone’s 25 goals for Epsom saw him edge out Callaway, who managed 23 in the championship season.

In the best and fairest count, Callaway polled 21 votes, edging out Eaglehawk’s Keegan Smythe (20) and Strathdale’s Sean Boxshall (18). Blues team-mate Nic Watson (17) and Eaglehawk’s Simon Doherty (15) rounded out the top five.

Despite winning the Anderson Medal, Callaway wasn’t picked in the BASL all-star side.

Men’s all-star team: Tristan Evans (Ehk), Colin Samuel (Ehk, captain), Chris Hopley (Ehk), Connor Smyth (Ehk), Marc McGregor (Ehk), James Crawley (Epsom), Jesse Leonard-Shannon (G-City), Keegan Smyth (Ehk), Trent Gladstone (Epsom), Zac Kinsman (Colts), Jono Ryan (Ehk).

Bench: Chris Lewin (Swan Hill), Dylan Callaway (Colts), Toli Wanefalea (Ehk), Jacob McDonald (Colts), Hamish Gladstone (Epsom).

Coach: Heath Trathen (Epsom).

● STRATHDALE’S star striker Jacinta Dikkenberg was a runaway winner of the women’s best and fairest, claiming the Lois Browning Medal by a whopping six votes.

Dikkenberg, who scored almost twice as many goals than another other player to also win the Golden Boot award, polled 28 votes in the best and fairest count.

Runner-up with 22 votes was Moama champ Rowie Ilsley, while Eaglehawk veteran Amy Skvarc polled 17 votes to share third with Spring Gully young gun Jess Smith.

Rounding out the top five was Colts star Bec Berry with 16 votes.

A university student at La Trobe, Dikkenberg also won the young player of the year award.

Her 41 goals this season was the most kicked by any player in any grade across the BASL.

In fact, the player Dikkenberg defeated in the women’s Golden Boot award was her sister, Bianca, who scored 21 for the season.

Bianca polled 14 votes in the best and fairest to be seventh overall.

Women’s all-star team: Kari Gulson (Moama), Maika Ruyter-Hooley (Ehk), Natalie von wertz Matthews (Swan Hill), Ailish Archbold (Ehk), Melissa Vanzetta (Moama), Amy Skvarc (Ehk), Rebecca Berry (Colts), Rowie Ilsley (Moama), Bridget Powell (Moama), Jacinta Dikkenberg (Strathdale), Bianca Dikkenberg (Strathdale).

Bench: Kristen O’Connor (G-City), Jess Pethybridge (Ehk), Natalie Swales (Epsom), Gillian Conway (Moama), Erica Day (Strathdale).

Coach: Darryl Brown (Moama).

● EAGLEHAWK playmaker Justin Warren was rewarded for a strong division two season with the Barry Moore Medal.

Warren polled 25 goals in the best and fairest, defeating Strathdale’s Stuart Gough (23) and team-mate Brent Hamblin (16).

In the youth competition, Eaglehawk golden boot winner Nathan Hamblin won the Mel McGovern Medal for best and fairest.

STAR SIBLINGS: Jacinta and Bianca Dikkenberg finished first and sixth respectively in the women's best and fairest award. Picture: PETER WEAVING

STAR SIBLINGS: Jacinta and Bianca Dikkenberg finished first and sixth respectively in the women's best and fairest award. Picture: PETER WEAVING


Discuss "Callaway, Dikkenberg win soccer's top awards"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.