Young stars win basketball MVP awards

A PREMIERSHIP victory and the league most valuable player award capped an oustanding season by General Poodles star Aleisha Rutland in the Bendigo Basketball Association’s winter competition.

The men’s A-grade winner as GV Giants guard Matt Bartlett, a rising star for the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Braves in the SEABL competition.

The Ken Day most valuable player awards for the BBA were presented at Monday night’s grand finals at Bendigo Stadium.

An icon of the Bendigo Basketball Association and long-time coach, Day presented the awards.

In the voting, Rutland polled 17 votes to win the prestigious award.

The 19-year-old played every game and was a key figure in Generals run to winning the grand final.

Runner-up was Madeline Rijs from Beavers on 12 votes.

In the men’s A-grade award, Bartlett was a runaway winner on 24 votes.

Although he didn’t gain votes in the last two rounds, Bartlett was eight clear of Generals forward and Braves great Ricky Daniels.

Top five in the Ken Day MVP awards for the 2012 season:

A-grade men: 24 Matt Bartlett, GV Giants; 16 Ricky Daniels, Generals; 15 Chris Adkins, Aztez; 15 Joe Turner, Los Burritos; 15 Chris Hogan, Beavers Red.

A-grade women: 17 Aleisha Rutland, Generals Poodles; 12 Madeline Rijs, Beavers; 11 Roey Johnstone, The Mixtures; 10 Jessica Mangan, Beavers; 9 Georgina Hyett, Waratahs.

Matthew Bartlett.

Matthew Bartlett.


Discuss "Young stars win basketball MVP awards"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.