HDFL Cheatley Medal preview

STRONG SEASON: Mount Pleasant centre half-forward Kain Robins.
STRONG SEASON: Mount Pleasant centre half-forward Kain Robins.

A TRIO of former Eaglehawk players are among the contenders vying for Sunday’s Heathcote District Football League Cheatley Medal.

North Bendigo’s Tyson Findlay and Mount Pleasant’s Kain Robins shape as the two front-runners for the Cheatley, while Colbinabbin’s Linton Jacobs also looms as a medal chance.

All three players joined the HDFL this year from Eaglehawk.

Cheatley Medal contenders:

Tyson Findlay (North Bendigo) - been the standout player in what has been the standout team this season.

Played a mix of midfield and forward where he has provided an avenue to goal with 32 in the home and away season.

Had a string of four games in a row between rounds six and nine where he was the Bulldogs’ best player.

Kain Robins (Mount Pleasant) - centre half-forward who entered the HDFL with a big reputation and helped lead the Blues back into the finals.

Kicked 52 goals and was the Blues’ best player seven times.

Could he add a Cheatley Medal to his 2006 BFL Michelsen Medal?

Team-mate Tim Hill - also from Eaglehawk - was also outstanding for the Blues in his role down back.

Linton Jacobs (Colbinabbin) - midfielder/small forward who started the season in fine style and ended it in ripping form with 25 goals in his last four games.

Jye Keath (Leitchville-Gunbower) - consistent season splitting his time through the midfield and across half-back.

Chris Hudson (LBU) - was rated among the Cats’ best three players eight times playing a combination of ruck and forward. Team-mate Simon Keleher should also poll well.

Daniel Russell (Heathcote) - hard work polling in a team that won just one game, but the ruckman’s season has been deserving of some respect from the umpires.

Hayden Wright (White Hills) - didn’t play his first game for the Demons until round seven, so probably missed too much HDFL footy to win the medal.

But he played some monster games that could get him up among the leaders.


1st - Kain Robins.

2nd - Tyson Findlay,

3rd - Jye Keath.

Rising star nominees: 

Will Brereton (Leitchville-Gunbower), Gavin Broad (LBU), James Harney (Elmore), Joel Helman (Leitchville-Gunbower), Jackson McEwen (Leitchville-Gunbower), Mitchell McLean (Heathcote), Jeremy Morgan (Colbinabbin), Harry Whittle (Huntly).


Discuss "HDFL Cheatley Medal preview"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.