Stars align for sports awards

A GALAXY of sporting stars will gather at tonight’s 48th presentation of the Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year awards for 2012-13.

There will be plenty of glitz at the bankmecu-sponsored awards presentation in the The Conservatory at The All Seasons in Bendigo.

Four finalists – basketballer Matt Dellavedova, badminton aces Glenn Warfe and Ross Smith, and cyclist Glenn O’Shea – competed at the London Olympics.

Shelley Chaplin played a key role for the Gliders in wheelchair basketball at the London Paralympics.

The region’s rich diversity of sporting success is shown in the 14 finalists who have earned a monthly award.

Contenders for 2012-13 include judo player Bryan Jolly, top jockey Nash Rawiller, powerflifter Helen Kostadinos, golfer Lucas Herbert, footballers Grant Weeks and Michaela Perceval, cyclists Lachlan Norris and George Tansley, and race walker Zoe Boldiston.

The night includes the presentation of the Maxine Crouch and Cyril Michelsen trust fund, the Sports Focus Administrator of the Year, inspirational award, and Hall of Fame induction.

Olympic swimmer Brooke Hanson is guest speaker, and Victoria’s Minister for Sport Hugh Delahunty will announce the Sports Star of the Year. 


Discuss "Stars align for sports awards"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.