Superb feats to be recognised at Sports Star of the Year awards

OUTSTANDING performers from a wide range of pursuits will be honoured at this Friday night’s presentation of the Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year award.

Now in their 48th year, the awards are proudly supported by bankmecu.

Sporting stars of today and yesteryear will gather in The Conservatory at Bendigo’s All Seasons Resort from 6pm.

The sports represented in this year’s galaxy of stars are basketball, golf, judo, AFL, badminton, cycling, gallops racing, drug-free powerlifting, and race walking.

Contenders for the gold statue awarded to Sports Star of the Year include four Olympians who competed in London and a Paralympian.

Glenn Warfe and Ross Smith teamed up on the badminton court;  Matthew Dellavedova played a key role for the Boomers in their basketball campaign; and gun cyclist Glenn O’Shea starred on the track.

A few weeks later and Shelley Chaplin was on court in the Paralympics basketball campaign.

Our team in London included Kristi Harrower, basketball, and Hannah Every-Hall, sculling.

Both are dual winners of the Sports Star of the Year award.

Another member of the Olympic family, swimming great Brooke Hanson is guest speaker at Friday night’s presentation.

Victoria’s Minister for Sport, Hugh Delahunty will announce the Sports Star of the Year.

The age spectrum of the montly winners ranges from teens to late 60s.

Finalists in the 2012-13 bankmecu-backed Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year award:

February, 2012: Glenn Warfe and Ross Smith, badminton.

March, 2012: Matthew Dellavedova, basketball.

April, 2012: Glenn O’Shea, cycling, and Nash Rawiller, gallops racing.

May, 2012: Michaela Perceval, AFL.

June, 2012: Bryan Jolly, judo.

July, 2012: Helen Kostadinos, drug-free powerlifting, and Grant Weeks, AFL.

August, 2012: Zoe Boldiston, race walking.

September, 2012: Shelley Chaplin, basketball.

October, 2012: Lachlan Norris, cycling.

November, 2012: no award.

December, 2012: George Tansley, cycling.

January, 2013: Lucas Herbert, golf.

Other awards to be presented are the Cyril Michelsen Trust Fund, Maxine Crouch Trust Fund, the Inspiration award, and Hall of Fame induction.

The Sports Focus Administrator of the Year is among the many highlights on the night.

This year’s finalists are:

Christine Dickinson  from Romsey and District Netball Club.

Belinda Williams, First Echuca Scout Group.

Zenda McConnell, White Hills Football Netball Club.

Carlene Dowie, Maryborough Little Athletics Centre.

Vanessa Saunders, Castlemaine and District Netball Association.

The finalists were chosen from a lengthy list of nominees from within the cities and shires in the Sport Focus zone.

Macedon Ranges, Shire of Campaspe, City of Greater Bendigo, Central Goldfields Shire, and Mount Alexander Shire are represented in this year’s field. There was no finalist from Loddon Shire.  


Discuss "Superb feats to be recognised at Sports Star of the Year awards"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.