Power faces huge test in Twenty20 clash on Sandhurst's turf 

WIN tonight’s Twenty20 clash on Sandhurst’s turf and Huntly-North Epsom is through to the semi-finals of the Bendigo District Cricket Association competition.

Tonight’s matches start at 5pm.

A Power loss at J.L. King Weeroona Oval could allow Strathdale-Maristians to jump to the top two, provided the Suns win against the ladder-leading White Hills at Integrating Technology Oval.

Since a 27-run loss at White Hills in round one, Huntly-North Epsom has struck back to win at Kangaroo Flat by five runs and then score a five-run victory on Strathdale’s turf at Bell Oval.

Huntly-North Epsom’s run in T20 is being replicated in the longer form as Power fought on to win its one-day and two-day games on MyJet Oval against Golden Square.

Although Sandhurst is winless in T20, it has several batsmen capable of doing some damage.

Matt Pask hit a team-high 68 in last Wednesday’s match at Strathdale.

Shane Robinson, Andrew Bourne and Dylan Gibson have all been in fine form with the bat in the two-day contests for the Dragons.

Huntly-North Epsom’s stars in the latest T20 victory were Chris Guinane, 34 runs; Sam Johnston, 24 and 1-17; and opening batsman Ryan Grundy on 21.

Second on the section B ladder, Kangaroo Flat has the bye and will be hoping White Hills and Sandhurst are victorious tonight.

The Aaron Monro-led Demons are unbeaten in this season’s Twenty20 campaign.

A 27-run win at home in the opening round was followed by a six-wicket win against Sandhurst, and 22-run victory in the clash with the Kangaroos.

Another unbeaten team, Bendigo United will be aiming to continue its run when it plays Eaglehawk at Harry Trott Oval in Neale Street, Kennington.

There have been many contributors in Bendigo United’s winning streak.

The Redbacks’ best in last week’s win at Strathfieldsaye were Leigh McDermott, 57 runs; Harry Donegan, 25; and Nick Crawford and Alistair Leech, two wickets apiece.

Eaglehawk has had just one victory in Twenty20, but has the likes of Cory Jacobs, Anthony West, Andrew Smith and Coby Hansen to trouble the Bendigo United attack. 


Discuss "Power faces huge test in Twenty20 clash on Sandhurst's turf "

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.