Sprint regatta precedes Bendigo Rowing Club's 140th festivities 

It will be a big weekend for the Bendigo Rowing Club, with the annual Bendigo Sprint Regatta and the club’s 140th anniversary celebrations at Lake Weeroona.

Bendigo Rowling Club committee member Esmae Barnes said the short-course events, the first is at 9am, drew crews from many parts of Victoria.

Following the regatta the club will celebrate its anniversary, with former members, supporters and friends of the club invited to attend from 7.30pm in the Lake Weeroona pavilion.

Former BRC junior rower Hannah Every-Hall, a London Olympian and dual winner of the bankmecu-sponsored Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star at the Year, will be at the festivities.

The Bendigo Rowing Club has had many outstanding competitors.

The late Arthur Cambridge was inducted to the Sports Star of the Year Hall of Fame in 1994-95.

Deborah Bassett won gold in the eights at the 1986 Commonwealth Games in Edinburgh, Scotland, and was Sports Star of the Year for 1986-87.

Born in Kerang, Jason Day became one of Bendigo’s finest scullers and is a triple Olympic representative.

He competed at Barcelona in 1992, Atlanta in ’96 and Sydney in 2000. 

Tickets for tonight’s 140th anniversary celebrations are available at the door. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide