Bendigo Spirit pursues lofty goal

The Bendigo Bank Spirit launched its sixth season in the Women’s National Basketball League at the Bendigo Town Hall last night, with coach Bernie Harrower stating the club’s aim of becoming the envy of the competition.

The Spirit introduced its core group of 13 players to City of Greater Bendigo mayor Alec Sandner, Senator Bridget McKenzie, sponsors and guests.

A notable absentee from the group was US import Kathleen Scheer, who is set to return the US after succumbing to a knee injury. Spirit chairman Jeremi Moule said the club had about five possible imports on its shortlist to replace Scheer.

Special recognition of four-time Olympic medallist Kristi Harrower was made following her inspirational return from debilitating Achilles problems last season.

Renae Camino, Madeleine Garrick, Chantella Perera, Ebony Antonio and Hayley Munro are all new additions to the squad this season.

 Spirit squad: Andrea Wilson, Ashleigh Stonehouse, Chantella Perera, Chelsea Aubry, Ebony Antonio, Gabrielle Richards, Hayley Munro, Kelly Wilson, Kristi Harrower, Madeleine Garrick, Rebecca Campigli, Renae Camino and Jane Chalmers.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide