MCDFL squad gears up for inter-league clash

THE Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League has named its inter-league squad ahead of its May 24 showdown with the Geelong District Football League at Princes Park.

All 14 clubs are represented in the MCDFL inter-league squad of 45, which will be coached by Shane Fisher.

"We feel like we've been able to put together a squad of committed players who are really looking forward to the challenge of playing what will be a tough game against a strong GDFL side," Fisher said on Friday.

"We have a good mix of experienced players and up and coming talent."

The squad includes Navarre's Cody Driscoll and Newstead's Ben Krol as development players.

The MCDFL is at No.22 in the AFL Victoria Country rankings.

The squad will have its first training session at Maryborough's Princes Park at 6.30pm next Wednesday.

• MCDFL inter-league training squad:

AVOCA (3) - Joel Carter, Murray Bond, Mitch Kennedy.

CAMPBELLS CREEK (1) - Joel Smith.

CARISBROOK ( 7) - Patrick Jenes, Jackson Bowen, Jeremy McInnes, Liam Cunningham, Cole Roscholler, Nick Wright, Luke Treacy.

DUNOLLY (1) - Jay Pitto.

HARCOURT (1) - Paul Chaplin.

LEXTON (7) - Matthew Brown, Michael Jennings, Damon Aspland, James Templeton, Nick Spolding, Nigal Reid, Dylan Barr.

MALDON (2) - Hayden Kelly, Tom Cain.

MARYBOROUGH ROVERS (2) - David Popovski, Scott Sellers.

NATTE BEALIBA (1) - Daniel Gifford.

NAVARRE (8) - Ash Driscoll, Josh Driscoll, Daniel Parkin, Bryce Tickner, Brent Flood, Luke Hendy, Jayden Fowkes, Cody Driscoll.

NEWSTEAD (5) - Adrian Conn, Mark Ramsey, Ethan Ford, Pat Cummins, Ben Krol.

ROYAL PARK (2) - Taylor Stewart, Zac Tunbridge.

TALBOT (2) - Matthew Smith, Luke Kemp.

TRENTHAM (3) - Mark Strickland, Chris Whelan, Luke Whitehouse.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide