Who's in the coach hot seat this year?

THE winds of change have swept through central Victoria's senior coaching ranks ahead of the start of the 2014 football season this weekend.

Across the 49 clubs in the Bendigo, Heathcote District, Loddon Valley, North Central and Maryborough-Castlemaine District football leagues, 24 changed coaches after last year.

There has been a major shake-up in the BFL coaching ranks, with eight of the 10 clubs - Castlemaine, Gisborne, Golden Square, Kangaroo Flat, Kyneton, Maryborough, Sandhurst and South Bendigo - all having new coaches at the helm this year.

The only returning BFL coaches are Eaglehawk's Luke Monaghan and Strathfieldsaye's Darryl Wilson, who are both entering their fourth seasons in charge at their clubs.

There has also been plenty of coaching movement in the NCFL.

Five of the league's seven clubs - Birchip-Watchem, Charlton, Donald, Wedderburn and Wycheproof-Narraport - have changed coaches.

Perhaps the biggest surprise in the coaching landscape is that only one of last season's premiership coaches in the region is coaching again this season.

That's Navarre's Daniel Parkin, who guided the Grasshoppers to last year's MCDFL premiership.

Last year's other premiership coaches were Rick Ladson (Golden Square), Kahl Oliver (Lockington-Bamawm United), Zac East (Bridgewater) and Daniel Gash (Wedderburn), but none are continuing in the role this season.

Such has been the turnover of coaches in recent years, the coach with the longest current tenure is Scott Sellers, who is coaching Maryborough Rovers for the fifth-consecutive season.

 • Central Victoria's 2014 senior coaches:


Castlemaine - Shane Robertson (new).

Eaglehawk - Luke Monaghan (fourth year).

Gisborne - Rod Sharp (new).

Golden Square - Nick Carter (new).

Kangaroo Flat - Jason Stevens (new).

Kyneton - Mark Adamson (new).

Maryborough - Glen Chadwick and Jamie Bond (both new).

Sandhurst - Brett Fitzpatrick (new).

South Bendigo - Jeff Brennan (new).

Strathfieldsaye - Darryl Wilson (fourth year).


Colbinabbin - Phil Morgan (second year).

Elmore - Stephen Arthur (new).

Heathcote - Grant Ford (second year).

Huntly - Stacy Fiske (third year).

Leitchville-Gunbower - Marty Shadbolt (second year).

Lockington-Bamawm United - Adrian Dohnt (new).

Mount Pleasant - Derrick Filo (new).

North Bendigo - Rob Bennett and Neville Massina (both new).

White Hills - Shaun Makepeace (second year).


Bridgewater - Andrew Collins (new).

Bears Lagoon-Serpentine - Damien Featherby (fourth year).

Calivil United - Andrew Freemantle (new).

Inglewood - Isaac Douthie (new).

Marong - Corey Gregg (third year).

Mitiamo - Denis Grinton (second year).

Newbridge - Matt Dillon (new).

Pyramid Hill - Paul Grayling (second year).

YCW - Pat Jess (second year).


Birchip-Watchem - Tom Carland (new).

Boort - Rick Easton (second year).

Charlton - Aaron Walklate (new).

Donald - Paul Brooks (new).

St Arnaud - James McNamee (third year).

Wedderburn - Luke Rosa (new).

Wycheproof-Narraport - Boe Bish and Ricky Allan (both new).


Avoca - Adrian Pilgrim (third year).

Campbells Creek - Sean Smith (third year).

Carisbrook - Luke Treacy (fourth year).

Dunolly - Tony Bellenger (third year).

Harcourt - Daniel Smith (second year) and Scott Whitehead (new).

Lexton - Shane Fisher (new).

Maldon - Brian Kelly (new).

Maryborough Rovers - Scott Sellers (fifth year).

Natte Bealiba - Shane Green (second year).

Navarre - Daniel Parkin (third year).

Newstead - Ross Smith (fourth year).

Royal Park - Greg Stewart (second year).

Talbot - Rick Andrews (new).

Trentham - Clayton Scoble (third year).

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide