BDCA REVIEW: Strathdale-Maristians

Finished: 3rd – 8-5-1.

Round-by-round ladder position: 5th, 6th, 5th, 5th, 4th, 2nd, 2nd, 2nd, 3rd, 2nd, 2nd, 2nd, 3rd.

Twenty20 tournament: Beaten in grand final – Sam Taylor 182 runs and 9 wickets. 

Most BDCA Cricketer of the Year votes: Ben DeAraugo (11).

Most Bendigo Advertiser-Bicknells votes: Ben DeAraugo (27).

Addy Team of the Year: Travis King, Cameron Taylor and Ben DeAraugo. 

Highest score: 155 – Adrian Pappin, v White Hills, round 5.

Best bowling: 6-56 – Jacob DeAraugo, v Sandhurst, round 6.

AFTER three years as the undisputed kings of the BDCA, the domination of Strathdale-Maristians has finally come to an end.

The Suns bowed out this season in the semi-final as they missed their first grand final since 2008 when beaten by Bendigo United by seven wickets.

After going through last season undefeated, the Suns were an up-and-down team this summer.

Apart from four wins in a row between rounds five and eight when they beat four teams that missed the finals, they didn’t string back-to-back wins together throughout the rest of the season. 

Their inconsistency was also shown in the fact they were the only team to beat Golden Square during the home and away season, yet also lost to Strathfieldsaye.

The side featured three Victoria Country representatives in captain Linton Jacobs, Cameron Taylor and Travis King.

King (625) - who made three centuries -  Taylor (458) and Jacobs (418), along with Ben DeAraugo (537), were all outstanding with the bat in making more than 400 runs.

Taylor was also brilliant with the ball in taking 28 wickets with his leggies.



Travis King - 625 runs @ 56.8

Ben DeAraugo - 537 runs @ 44.8

Cameron Taylor - 458 runs @ 38.2

Linton Jacobs - 418 runs @ 38.0

Adrian Pappin - 387 runs @ 32.3


Cameron Taylor - 28 wickets @ 16.5

Jacob DeAraugo - 20 wickets @ 25.3

Ben DeAraugo - 20 wickets @ 17.5

Nick Roebuck - 14 wickets @ 22.4

Ryan Haythorpe - 11 wickets @ 45.6

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide