Dozen eye victory in aths final

A DOZEN athletes will pursue victory in Thursday night's grand final in the Flack Advisory distance series in Bendigo.

The long-running series is held in conjuction with the Bendigo and District Cycling Club's track program at the Tom Flood Sports Centre.

Thursday night's final will be a 1000m contest.

Athletes who qualified for the final are Greg Hilson, Ebony Whiley, Mandy Worthington, Charles Chambers, Geoff Jordan, Adam Parker, George Flack, Ingrid Douglass, Kyle Hilson, Deanne Hocking, John Justice and Jessica O'Hara.

The 11th and final heat was run last Thursday night at the Barnard Street track.

Racing off a mark of 52 seconds, Greg Hilson won the 1000m race in 3.09 minutes.

Runner-up was Ebony Whiley ahead of Mandy Worthington.

Results from heat 11, 1000m:

Greg Hilson 4.01 race time, 52 start time, 3.09 personal time; Ebony Whiley 4.04, 6, 3.58; Mandy Worthington 4.04, 4, 4.00; Charles Chambers 4.08, 38, 3.30; Geoff Jordan 4.09, 30, 3.39; Adam Parker 4.13, 1.00, 3.13; George Flack 4.18, 4, 4.14.

This Thursday night's cycling and athletics program at the Tom Flood Sports Centre starts at 7pm. It's free entry for spectators. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide