Sport volunteers recognised

THE finalists for the 2014 Sports Focus Administrator of the Year award have been announced.

The prestigious award celebrates the role sport and recreational volunteers play in the community.

This year there are six finalists in the running for the award.

A person from each of the six central Victorian shires are all vying for the Administrator of the Year title.

The City of Greater Bendigo finalist is Strathfieldsaye Cricket Club president Brent Yates.

Yates has been a part of the club for the past 17 years.

He has a strong passion to see the club succeed with a key focus on junior development.

Yates was also instrumental in the rollout of the Cricket4Kids program, a local charity drive where unused cricket equipment is collected and sent to disadvantaged communities overseas.

The other Administrator of the Year finalists include, Colleen Rogers from the Loddon Valley Football Netball League, Mark Schumann from the Kyabram Lawn Tennis Club, Leonie Lang from the Gisborne Pony Club and Central Zone of Pony Clubs, Chris Jolme from the Castlemaine Rifle Club and Stacey Hartwell from the Royal Park Football Netball Club.

The winner of the prestigious award will be announced at the Bendigo Bank-backed Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year Award gala ceremony on February 28. 

The Sports Star of the Year award will also be awarded at the annual ceremony. 

This year, 17 finalists, all from different sports are competing for the award. 

The Cyril Michelsen Trust and Maxine Crouch Trust Funds will also be handed out on the night. 

The awards will be held at the All Seasons Resort in Bendigo.  

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide