Street classic keeps rolling

A NEW sponsor has kicked in to ensure the criterium is part of the cycling action at next month's Bendigo International Madison carnival.

Andy's Earthmovers has upped its sponsorship to now include the Friday night criterium in the CBD and the Golden Mile Wheelrace on the track.

Chief executive officer of the Bendigo International Madison Rik McCaig said organisers were rapt the criterium would roll on.

"Andy's Earthmovers has become a significant supporter of the carnival," McCaig said.

A big night of racing on Friday, March 7 will include a Penny Farthing challenge on the circuit from 6.30pm before the main event.

The stars who are heading here for the madison will compete on the streets.

The criterium will be a 35-lap duel on a circuit which starts on Pall Mall, races down Howard Place, swings into Rosalind Park and then on to View Street and a left-turn at Alexandra Fountain.

This year's race will be the 10th edition of a criterium at the madison carnival.

Previous winners on Bendigo's street circuit include Mark Cavendish, Simon Clarke, Zak Dempster and Mitch Docker.

Clarke and Docker are now team-mates at Orica-GreenEDGE and starred in the Jayco Herald-Sun Tour.

Clarke's victory in the tour was set up by winning the sprint on Pall Mall to complete Friday's leg from Ballarat to Bendigo.

Germany's Leif Lampater won the criterium in 2009 and returns next month to pursue back-to-back madison victories with Christian Grassman.

Last year's criterium was won by Inverell's Scott Law.

The Laws, Jackson and Scott will join forces in the McCaig Airconditioning-Daikin Bendigo International Madison on March 9.

A dual winner of the madison, Eaglehawk's Glenn O'Shea will team with Adelaide's Alex Edmondson in this year's race.

Now based in Adelaide, O'Shea was in red-hot form at the latest track nationals in his adopted state and finished eighth in the Jayco Herald-Sun Tour.

New Zealand teams Shane Archbold and Dylan Kennett, Myron Simpson and Wes Gough will chase madison glory.

Earthmover steps up to back criterium

Bendigo's Sam Crome will team with Dutchman Roy Pieters, while George Tansley from Mandurang will be back on a track he knows well.

Women's Night on March 8 at the track will include a madison in which Amy Cure and Ashlee Ankudinoff join forces against Bella King and Jess Mundy.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide