Superb feats achieved at track

SEVERAL contenders for the Athletics Victoria junior titles were in hot form at the latest track and field meet in Bendigo.

Because of Saturday's forecast of 40 degrees, AB officials switched the meet to Friday evening at the Latrobe University Bendigo athletics complex in Flora Hill.

South Bendigo's Nigel Self won his 100m and 400m heats.

Other winners included Andrew Bruce, Declan Rochford, Carlie Whitford, hurdles; Blake Pryse, Sophie Taylor, James Humphris, Carlie Whitford 100m; Duane Cousins, 1500m walk; Sophie Taylor, Nigel Self and James Humphris in the 400m heats.

Matthew Heislers and Eric Baker won the 1500m heats.

Other winners were Matt Le Nepvue, steeplechase; Paul Pryse, pole vault; Chris Browne, discus; Denise Snyder, high jump; Blake Pryse, long jump; Keely Trew and Louis Schenker, javelin; and Essendon's Michaele Duncan at discus and long jump.  

A modified program will be run at the Retreat Road track in Flora Hill from 1.30pm this Saturday. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide