Reigning champs clash in women's classic at Bendigo International Madison

A YEAR after winning the Bendigo International women's madison, Bella King and Ashlee Akudinoff will be opponents for next month's cycling classic.

The 60-lap battle will be on Saturday, March 8 at the Tom Flood Sports Centre.

King will team with Jess Mundy.

Akudinoff and  Amy Cure have confirmed they will race together.

CEO of the Bendigo International Madison, Rik McCaig said on Tuesday night the women's race had again drawn plenty of interest.

"We have four of the country's best women's track cyclists in this year's field," McCaig said.

"Other teams are still being confirmed, but we are rapt with the response we have had.

"Amy Cure and Ashlee Akudinoff will be heading to Bendigo straight after the world track championships."

McCaig said South Australian young gun Annette Edmondson was keen to compete in Bendigo, but was now out.

"Annette and Stephanie Morton have committed to racing together in Asia.

"The two races clashed, which was unfortunate."

Reigning champions Leif Lampater and Christian Grassman will be back to contest the McCaig Airconditioning and Daikin-backed Bendigo International Madison on Sunday, March 9.

The Germans will take on the likes of Eaglehawk's Glenn O'Shea and Adelaide's Alex Edmondson.

"Leif Lampater has had a brilliant run in this year's six-day races in Europe," said McCaig.

O'Shea achieved back-to-back victories in the Bendigo International Madison with Geelong's Leigh Howard.

Their bid for a hat-trick was washed out.

O'Shea won silver in the teams pursuit at the London Olympics.

The Cyclones team for the track campaign in London included brother and sister, Alex and Annette Edmondson.

More riders have been confirmed for the biggest madison in the southern hemisphere.

McCaig said Swiss star Franco Marvulli would not be racing in Bendigo.

A past winner of the great race, Marvulli was one of the most popular cyclists in madison history.

Field for the 2014 Bendigo International Madison:

Leif Lampater and Christian Grassman (Germany); Sam Crome (Bendigo) and Roy Pieters (Netherlands); Jackson and Scott Law (NSW); Glenn O'Shea (Bendigo) and Alex Edmondson (South Australia); Myron Simpson and Wes Gough (New Zealand); Luke Roberts and Haydn Bradbury (Victoria).

Shane Archbold and Dylan Kennett (New Zealand); George Tansley (Bendigo) and Miles Scotson (South Australia); Mark O'Brien (Horsham) and Jesse Kerrison; Scott Sunderland and Josh Harrison; Matt Jackson and Sam Welsford (WA); Tyler Spurrell and Luke Parker (Victoria); Hilton Clarke (Victoria) and Adrian Hegyvary (United States); Sam Witmitz (Horsham) and Michael Vink (Victoria); Callum Scotson and Matthew Holmes (South Australia); James Robertson and Gerald Evans (Tasmania). 

Teams for the women's madison: Bella King (WA) and Jess Mundy (SA); Alex Manly and Dani McKinnery (SA); Georgia Baker (Tasmania) and TBA); Taylah Evans and TBA: Macey Stuart and Lauren Perry: Josie Talbot and TBA: Amy Cure and Ashlee Akudinoff. 

EXCITING TALENT: Amy Cure racing in the individual pursuit at last year's world track cycling championships in Minsk, Belarus. Picture: GETTY

EXCITING TALENT: Amy Cure racing in the individual pursuit at last year's world track cycling championships in Minsk, Belarus. Picture: GETTY