O'Shea, Dean sizzle on track

OLYMPIAN Glenn O'Shea won gold in the men’s team pursuit at the national track cycling championships in Adelaide on Thursday night.

Racing for South Australia, where he is based, the Bendigo rider was part of a star-studded pursuit squad that included fellow 2012 London Games representatives Jack Bobridge and Alex Edmondson, as well as Rio hopeful Luke Davison.

They clocked a sizzling 3:58.387 for the 16-lap gold medal ride, catching their New South Wales rivals.

Former Bendigo young gun George Tansley also competed in the event, with his South Australia 2 team claiming the bronze medal.

Fresh from his win in the junior men's time trial on Wednesday, Bendigo’s Braeden Dean was crowned the national champion in the junior men’s sprint.

Dean was awarded the silver medal after losing the final to Korea’s Jeone Park.

However, Dean earns national champion honours because he was the best placed Australian.

The new national under-19 kilo champion won his best-of-three quarter final in the junior men's sprints, defeating New South Welshman Travis Smedley without the need for a decider.

He then defeated fellow Victorian Jay Castles in the semi-finals.

The 18-year-old’s performances on the first two days of competition have him well-placed to earn a berth in the Australian team for the world junior championships.

Earlier in the day, Kyneton rider Lauretta Hanson represented Victoria in the women's individual pursuit, finishing in eighth place.

Defending champion Annette Edmondson, from South Australia, was beaten by Tasmania's world silver medallist Amy Cure in the race for the national crown.

Melissa Hoskins won the bronze medal from Ashlee Ankudinoff.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide