Suns handle heat best

THE Strathdale-Maristians Suns continued their hot form in Tuesday night's Twenty20 cricket clash on Huntly North Epsom's turf.

Both line-ups went into the fifth and final round of the preliminary matches with unbeaten records.

Sam Taylor struck seven fours and a six in a top score of 45 off 41 balls for the Suns.

Taylor's first five scoring shots were all boundaries.

The Suns set a target of 118 at Poyser Motors Oval in Huntly.

Best of the Power attack were Tom Wilson, 2-30, and coach Quinton Bentley, 1-12 off four overs.

Power's chase began well as Michael Hanson led the way.

At 3-71 the game was evenly poised, but Suns' spinners Jack Neylon, 4-21, and Taylor, 10 off overs 17 and 19 put the clamps on.

Hanson was run out by Jacob DeAraugo off the final ball as the Suns held on for a three-run victory.

Eaglehawk's victory against Sandhurst was highlighted by the play of Zac East and Anthony West.

The Hawks fell to 2-16 after Eli Bowe captured wickets with his first two deliveries.

Bowe's bid for a hat-trick ended with the ball being snicked past the wicket-keeper to the fence.

West and East teamed for an 86-run stand to put Eaglehawk well in control.

A brilliant innings of 61 by East took just 34 deliveries.

West was adjuged leg before on 34.

Matt Fitt, 40 off 25, and Cam McGlashan, 31, played key roles in the Hawks reaching 7-196.

Sandhurst's chase was led by Andrew Chalkley, 60 off 33, but the Hawks attack was too strong.

Bendigo’s top-order fired in the clash with  White Hills at Bendigo District RSL Oval in North Bendigo.

Both teams had been defeated in their three previous Twenty20 contests.

Opening batsman Michael Hill smacked two sixes and seven fours in a top score of 64 off 47 balls for Bendigo.

Number three batsman Glenn Franzi hit seven fours in his innings of 45 and opening batsman Marcus McKern hit 25 runs.

The Goers were 2-142, but the Demons fired back to take 6-9.

Gareth Davies captured 4-17 and then led off the run-chase by scoring 23 runs.

Kyle Patten’s 30 lifted the score past 80, but the Demons then battled to be held to 9-131.

Hill, Tom Kirk and Wayne Saunders took two wickets apiece.

Kangaroo Flat passed the 200-run mark against Bendigo United at Dower Park.

Batting at three, Chris Barber hit two sixes and eight fours in an unbeaten score of 76 off 44 balls.

Barber and captain Adam Burns teamed for a 114-run stand.

A 33-ball stint by Burns included two sixes and seven fours as he reached 57.

The Roos reached 4-206 against an attack in which Josh Cruse took 2-42.

Bendigo United was 6-149 off 16 overs.

Harry Donegan hit 89 off 50 balls and Bryan Vance scored 39 off 33.

Meanwhile, Victoria Country has ended the Australian Country Cricket Championships in last place on a 1-4 record.

The Vics scored 9-137 in Tuesday's Twenty20 clash with East Asia Pacific in Canberra.

Strathdale-Maristians top-order batsman Cameron Taylor batted at three and scored 41 off 37 balls.

Strathdale-Maristians' team-mates Linton Jacobs, 7 not out, and Travis King, 0, did not have a memorable finish.

East Asia Pacific reached 4-141 with three balls to spare. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide