Rusbridge wins singles championship

EAGLEHAWK lawn bowler Ken Rusbridge will represent Bendigo in the regional round of the Victorian Singles Championships.

Rusbridge earned his place in the field by winning the Bendigo Advertiser Singles Final at Strathfieldsaye on Sunday.

The Bendigo region's premier lawn bowlers competed in the knockout competition over two days.

Rusbridge scored strong wins over Bendigo's Nick Belt and clubmate Simon Carter in the opening two rounds.

Rusbridge proved too strong for Inglewood's Lindsay Kelly in the quarter-finals, but his semi-final clash with Bendigo East's Gary Ryan was a close encounter.

Rusbridge won a thrilling match 25-23 to advance to the final against Ryan's Bendigo East clubmate Chris Randell.

Randell made his way to the final by defeating reigning state champion Brad Holland (Bendigo East) 26-21.

While Rusbridge was forced to battle for his semi-final victory, the final was one-way traffic, with the Eaglehawk star cruising to a 25-12 win.

The regional singles titles will be played in February at Campaspe.

Results of the Bendigo Advertiser Men's State Singles:

Round one: J. Reid (Golden Square) lt A. Kendall (Bendigo), N. Bowland (Eaglehawk) walkover to T. Dalwood (Bendigo East), M. Beer (Kangaroo Flat) d G. Walsh (Castlemaine), B. Holland (Bendigo East) d B. Byrne (Eaglehawk), B. Morley (Bendigo) d J. Berry (Golden Square), C. Randell (Bendigo East) d G. Howes (Bendigo East), B. Griffin (Bendigo East) lt T. Gilmore (Eaglehawk), P. Brain (Castlemaine) lt G. Thatcher (Eaglehawk).

L. Kean (Bridgewater) d D. Cole (Bendigo East), S. Piercy (Eaglehawk) d W. Marwood (South Bendigo), E. White (Eaglehawk) lt G. Ryan (Bendigo East), R. Clough (Bendigo East) d D. Klemke (Eaglehawk), N. Belt (Bendigo) lt K. Rusbridge (Eaglehawk), S. Carter (Eaglehawk) d G. Beckham (Golden Square), I. Ross (Bendigo) lt L. Kelly (Inglewood), S. Fulton (Bendigo) d I. Cail (Bendigo East).

Round two: A. Kendell lt T. Dalwood, B. Holland d M. Beer, B. Morley lt C. Randell, T. Gilmore walkover to G. Thatcher, L Kean lt S. Piercy, G. Ryan d R. Clough, K. Rusbridge d S. Carter, L. Kelly d S. Fulton.

Quarter-finals: T. Dalwood lt B. Holland, C. Randell d G. Thatcher, S. Piercy lt G. Ryan, K. Rusbridge d L. Kelly.

Semi-finals: B. Holland lt C. Randell 21-26, G. Ryan lt K. Rusbridge 23-25.

Final: Ken Rusbridge d Chris Randell 25-12.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide