South Australian stars achieve historic victory

SOUTH Australia's Annette Edmondson and Jess Mundy have been crowned Australia's first women's madison champions.

A day after winning the national omnium title, Edmondson teamed with Mundy at the Darebin track.

For the first time, Cycling Australia awarded national champion status to the event.

The field included Bendigo's Beth Duryea and Imogen Jelbart.

“It's an amazing opportunity to make a difference in Australian cycling. First to have the event, but to have it come down to the final sprint is huge," Edmondson said after the race.

It was Mundy's first national track title.

Edmondson and Mundy (19 pts) claimed three from a possible five sprints to clinch the title from Josie Talbot/Ashlee Andkudinoff (17 pts).

Western Australian’s Isabella King/Melissa Hoskins scored 11 points and were third.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide