Internationals rule madison

EUROPE'S cycling stars dominated Saturday night's Australian Madison championship at Darebin's indoor velodrome.

Germany's Leif Lampater and Belgium's Kenny de Ketele lapped the field twice on their way to victory in the 200-lap battle.

Runners-up were Germany's Christian Grassman and Switzerland's Franco Marvulli.

Lampater, Grassman and Marvulli have all won the Bendigo International Madison track classic held in March.

Team-mates in Bendigo a few months ago, Lampater and Grassman were opponents this time.

Third overall in a thrilling battle at Darebin, Jayco-AIS team-mates Alex Edmondson and Luke Davison won the national title as the highest placed Australian team.

Marvulli-Grassman took the first lap of the madison, with De Ketele-Lampater quick to respond with a lap of their own.

From there it was a rush of Aussie talent.

Eaglehawk's Glenn O'Shea and SA team-mate Jack Bobridge, Davison-Edmondson and Tyler Spurrel-Luke Parker all gained laps to stay in contention for the national championship.

The madison is decided on laps taken and sprint points.

Davison-Edmondson led the charge on 21 points, but could not halt the attack by De Ketele-Lampater to gain a second lap.

Marvulli-Grassman earned a second lap near the finish.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide