Avenue of honour to recognise Olympians

PLANS are afoot to create an avenue of honour to celebrate our region’s Olympic champions.

The Bendigo Regional YMCA wants to honour those who have competed in open age events at the Olympic Games, Winter Olympics and Special Olympics.

The avenue of honour will recognise anyone who resided in Bendigo or was affiliated with a Bendigo club when they competed at Olympic level.

The YMCA plans to approach the City of Greater Bendigo early next year with the proposal.

Several options are being considered for the location of the walk.

YMCA chief executive Michael Bailey said the idea was not only a public way to recognise the city's top athletes, but also encourage active and healthy communities.

"It fits well with the Y values and promotes a healthy and active lifestyle,'' he said.

Bendigo Olympic champions include Ron Masters, Faith Leech, Jack Trickey, Des Duguid, Colin Fitzgerald, Robert Burns, Jason Day, Paul Stevenson, Duane Cousins, Lynden Hosking, Kristi Harrower, AnnMaree Roberts, Noel Sens, Glen Saville, Glen Warfe and Glen Ashby.

YMCA board member Michael McKern said there were many others who competed at Olympic level, and the YMCA wanted to know about them.

"The worst thing we can do is leave someone out,'' he said.

Anyone with information about an Olympian should email bendigo.regional@ymca.org.au.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide