Eaglehawk celebrates back-to-back championship wins

EAGLEHAWK made it back-to-back titles with a thumping 7-0 win against Moama in the Bendigo Amateur Soccer League.

After winning last year’s division one men’s championship on goal difference, the Borough wrapped up this year’s title with three rounds left to play.

Eaglehawk needed just a draw to secure top spot on Sunday, but a win was never in doubt as the Hawks notched up a 7-0 victory.

It could have been a bigger margin, but the match was called off with 13 minutes remaining after an ambulance was called to assist an injured Moama player.

Eaglehawk coach Alf Longano said he was pleased the race was “officially over”.

“We’ve known for a few weeks now that we were going to win it, but now its official makes it a lot better,” he said.

Boasting a talent-laden squad, Eaglehawk hasn’t lost a game this year – its worst results have been 1-1 and 0-0 draws against Strathdale and Epsom respectively.

Goal scorers were not supplied from Sunday’s match at Moama, but Longano said Shane Eleveld, Marc McGregor and Toli Wanefelea were his side’s best.

In other division one men’s matches, Colts United produced a big game to defeat Golden City 8-3 at Shadforth Park.

Dylan Callaway moved to the top of the golden boot leaderboard with a four-goal display, taking his tally to 22 for the season.

Callaway took the lead from Trent Gladstone, who could only manage one goal in Epsom’s 5-1 win against Swan Hill.

At Swan Hill, the Scorpions were too good for the home side, with Jeremy Hassell scoring a brace for the visitors.

The Swanners’ goal was scored by Brent Mitchell.

At Beischer Park, Strathdale put paid to Castlemaine, winning 5-0.

Nick Watson and Sean Boxshall eached scored two for the winners.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide