Finegan wins at Victoria Country road cycling championships 

BENDIGO’S Kate Finegan reigned supreme in the women’s elite 80km race at the weekend’s Victoria Country road championships in Harcourt and Sutton Grange.

At the end of the testing climbs and tricky descents, Finegan sprinted to victory ahead of Castlemaine’s Victoria Luxton-Bain.

Jo Wall from MTBA was just four seconds behind the race winner.

Rachel Ward fought on to be fourth ahead of Bendigo clubmates Leigh-Anne Dynon, fifth, and Nicole McNamara, seventh.

Warragul’s Brenton Jones won the elite men’s race over 112km.

Best of the Bendigo contenders was Sam Crome in sixth place.

Other Bendigo DCC riders to compete in the main men’s event were Shaun McCarthy, 9th; Peter Casey, 16th; Peter Ladd, 21st; Tim Hucker, 22nd; Andrew Ward, 23rd; and Luke Knox, 24th.

Aydin Bowe from Bendigo was runner-up in the junior men’s race (80km) which was won by Lucas Hamilton from Ararat and District.

Castlemaine’s Paul Maltby won the masters men category one title raced over 80km.

Jared Hartley from Bendigo was runner-up in masters men two.

Bendigo’s Kris Gill was sixth in the masters men three event.

It was a Bendigo double in masters men four as Anthony Fitzpatrick sprinted to victory ahead of John Dam, while Peter Sens was fourth.

Paul Volk was third, and Quentin Cook was fifth in masters men five.

The masters men six field included Bendigo’s Noel Sens, a competitor at the 2000 Sydney Paralymics, fighting on to claim fifth place in the 56km road race.

Bendigo’s Cheryle Barker was third in the masters women five event.

Bendigo’s Isaac Buckell won the under-15 boys’ 36km race at Harcourt North, and Bendigo clubmate Belinda Bailey won gold in the under-11 girls race (6km).

Blake Agnoletto from Bendigo won the under-13 boys (12km) final, while Amber Lyons was third in the under-13 girls and Jake Lyons was third in the under-11 boys (6km).

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide