O’Shea rules in omnium battles

THE reigning world champion in the omnium, Eaglehawk’s Glenn O’Shea last night reigned supreme in the Australian championship at the Darebin velodrome.

In second place after Thursday’s racing, O’Shea dominated last night’s contests.

The Adelaide-based cycling star won the 16-lap pursuit in a time of 4:26 and then later followed his strength and all-round skill by lapping the field at 30 laps to go in the scratch race.

A six-event duel, the omnium is decided on a points system, in which the winner receives a point.

A dual winner of the bankmecy-sponsored Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year award, O’Shea capped the night’s racing by winning the 1km time trial in 63.61 seconds.

Final standings were O’Shea 8 points, Davison 14, Alex Morgan (Victoria) 26, Miles Scotson (SA) 29.

After being rivals the past two nights, O’Shea and Davison will team up in tonight’s Australian Madison championship. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide