Sports stars in line for monthly gong

WHETHER it was on two wheels, swinging a club, or lifting a bar, the October nominees for the Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year award were in hot form.

The judging panel for the bankmecu-sponsored awards will meet today at WIN TV in Bendigo.

On the triathlon circuit, Sophie Hawken won silver in the 30-34 years class at the ITU World Triathlon Grand Final in Auckland.

It was Hawken’s fourth world amateur silver medal, but her first since returning to the sport after the birth of son Lucius.

Barkers Creek’s Lachlan Norris won the six-day Tour of Tasmania, which capped a superb road season with Drapac Professional Racing.

Later in the month, Norris  triumphed in the four-day Cape to Cape mountatin bike classic across the Margaret River region in Western Australia.

Raelene Eckardt won silver in the youth 69kg-plus division and gold in the youth team’s event at the Australian junior weightlifting titles.

Ravenswood’s  Lucas Herbert’s qualified for the international final  of the Aaron Baddeley International Junior Championship after finishing third in the state final at Heritage Golf and Country Club.

Earlier in the month, Herbert won the junior title at the Victorian Country Week golf championships.

Another golfing ace, Neangar Park’s Michael Paterson starred in the Victorian leg of the over-50s Legends Tour.

Paterson won the Sorrento Seniors Pro-Am. His round of even-par 70 saw him clinch victory by one stroke, which earned an invite to the $100,000 Australian Senior Open in Perth.

Tennis ace Eliza Long competed in the open division at the Traralgon and Bendigo International classics.

On the bowls green, Bradley Marron won bronze in the boys’ triples at the national under-18 championships in Launceston.

The Victorian team included Chloe Stewart from Kyneton competing in singles, pairs or triples.

A first-year player at Bendigo Gold, Brendan Lee earned the Nick Carter medal as best and fairest at the Victorian Football League club. 

Mildura’s Jacob Chisari won the Neville Strauch Memorial Trophy as the Bendigo Bank Pioneers Football Club’s champion player for the 2012 season.

On the cricket field, Ryan Grundy struck 201 not out as Huntly-North Epsom beat Bendigo in the Bendigo District Cricket Association’s first XI clash on the turf at North Bendigo’s Atkins Street Oval. 


Discuss "Sports stars in line for monthly gong"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.