BFL’s gala plans

By Luke West
Updated November 6 2012 - 3:33pm, first published June 4 2010 - 2:02am

A GALA event to pay homage to some of the greats of the Bendigo Football League - past and present - will be held in late October.Friday, October 29, is the date the BFL has earmarked to hold its third Hall of Fame ceremony, and on the same night a Team of the Decade for the years 2000 to 2009 will be unveiled.There have been two previous Hall of Fame inductions, in 1986 and 1996.Thirty-two players have BFL Hall of Fame status.“As part of our Project 130, which will recognise the 130 years of the league, we’re looking to revisit the Hall of Fame inductions,” BFL chief executive officer Steven Oliver said.“As part of that function we’ll also be looking to select a Team of the Decade from 2000 to 2009.“We’re working on the criteria for the Hall of Fame and the Team of the Decade and we’ll have selection committees to oversee that.“We’re aiming for the night to be a real tribute to those people who we honour.“We really want it to be a special night for the league.“We’re doing research into other leagues that have held these types of Hall of Fame dinners, as well as what the league has done in the past.“It has been nearly 15 years from a league perspective and we have an enormous amount of people over 130 years who have contributed.“We think it’s a great opportunity as we get more of this historical data into the league that we can recognise some of these true champions and legends of the BFL.”BFL Hall of Fame members:1986 - Graham Arthur, Ron Best, Wally Culpitt, Kevin Curran, Eddie Esposito, Reg Ford, George Ilsley, Bob McCaskill, Alan Martin, Peter Moroni, Alf Odgers, George Ogilvie, Clive Philp, Peter Pianto, Colin Rice, Tony Southcombe, Fred Swift, Alan Williams, Greg Williams, Herb Zegelin.1996 - Bill Bonney, Francis Burke, Frank Crapper, Brendan Hartney, Jack Jefferies, Trevor Keogh, Frank Lenaghan, Alan McDonald, Harry Morgan, Garry Mountjoy, Shane Muir, Peter Tyack.