Hurst blood young guns

SANDHURST will have just eight of last year's Bendigo Football League premiership side take to the QEO on Sunday night for its round one clash with Kangaroo Flat.

Skipper Wayne Mitrovic, Mal Borchard, Brad Comer, Kieran Nihill, Matt Stagg, Matt Keown, Kieran Prowse and Rob Thornton are the only players from the Dragons side which beat Gisborne in last September's grand final who will be on the field tomorrow night when the premiership flag is unfurled.

The Dragons have blooded a host of young players including Jon Coghlan, the son of former St Kilda and Sandhurst star Frank Coghlan.

Kangaroo Flat will be without former coach Chris Harrington for Sunday's clash because of a knee injury.

Promising midfielder Chris Belz comes into the side which lost to Eaglehawk on Good Friday.

Midfielder Tyson Holt will make his debut for the Roos and has been earmarked for a tagging role on one of the Dragons' primemovers.

Castlemaine couldn't consider coach Paul Eyles for the Magpies trip to Kyneton.

Eyles is out injured, but the Magpies have named a strong side which includes high-profile recruit Ian Martin and favourite son Stephen Oliver, who returns after a year at Hepburn.

Kyneton will unleash star ruckman Brett Cook for his first game for the club, but will be without key forwards Matt Waters and Wayne Eve.

Cook, who played AFL with Fitzroy and St Kilda, and former Maryborough key position players David Leach and Keenan Reynolds will be the new Kyneton players to watch.

South Bendigo named six new players for its season-opener against Gisborne at the QEO tomorrow night.

Coach Danny O'Bree, Linc Sullivan, Jason Wescott, Leigh Burke, Aaron Noonan, Josh Riddle, Grant Tasca and Luke Beattie form the nucleus of a new-look South outfit.

Eamon Hancock, Levi Moss, Danny Sipthorpe, Casey Robertson and Heath Pritchard will make their debut for Gisborne.

The Bulldogs still look to have a formidible side with coach Marcus Barham, Matt McKenzie, Shane Davis, Luke Saunders and Jordan Barham forming the spine of the 2002-03 premiers.