Sutton Grange trainer Brent Stanley gets breakthrough win with million dollar filly Lady Cartier

Brent Stanley
Brent Stanley

A MILLION dollar purchase for Cloud 9 Thoroughbreds, Lady Cartier has broken through for her maiden win in Bendigo.

The three-year-old filly notched win number one at start five for Sutton Grange trainer Brent Stanley at today’s meeting at the White Hills racecourse.

The former Group 1-winning jockey believed the superbly-bred daughter of Fastnet Rock and Ten Carat Rock had put the writing on the wall following luckless seventh at Bendigo in her last start on February 28.

“She was a sad story, and should have won against her own age and sex last time,” Stanley told broadcaster

“She’s a high-class filly; we paid a lot money for her as a yearling and has taken her time to come right.

“She’s had a few issues – nothing with her physically – it’s all mental with her and it’s an effort getting her to the races.

“It’s a big team effort, but she will go onwards from here. (In) another six over a mile or 2000m she will be a pretty smart horse.”

The filly was the top seller at the 2016 Magic Millions Yearling Sale.

She debuted with a third at Mornington last September, before she was unplaced at Flemington.

Today’s run was the filly’s third this campaign, with Stanley leaning towards giving Lady Cartier one more run – potentially two – before another spell.

“She showed us a lot of potential, so fingers crossed she can prove that again,” he said.

“She’s a winner, all I have to do now is do my job and that is to make sure she gets a city win and a stakes win.”

Luke Currie was the winning rider.

Meanwhile, Kyneton trainer Mick Sell added his name to the winners’ list with in-form mare Ardra Storm too strong for his rivals in a benchmark 64 handicap (1300m).

The four-year old has now won three-in-a-row following a pair wins in February at Stawell and Ararat.

Ardra Storm has proven a smart buy for his owners, with four wins and two minor placings in 18 starts.

Seven trainers have shared the spoils in the first sixraces, with Greg Eurell, Darren Weir, Michael Moroney,  Patrick Payne and Matt Cumani all notching winners so far.