Syd Anstee wins first Audi champion of champions 1600m wheelrace

Syd Anstee

Syd Anstee

SYD Anstee is the inaugural winner of the Bendigo and District Cycling Club’s Audi champion of champions 1600m wheelrace.

Anstee, who is the club president, prevailed narrowly in a thrilling finish last Thursday at the Tom Flood Sports Centre velodrome.

Little separated Anstee, runner-up Mitchell Barrow and third-placegetter Robert Gartside in a thrilling finish to the hotly-contested handicap event.

A high-calibre field of 22 riders qualified for the final from points accrued during the 2017-18 track season.

Anstee pocketed $500 for the win, with prize money paid down to 10th.

The final finish order was: Syd Anstee (1), Mitchell Barrow (2), Robert Gartside (3), Daniel Jackson (4), Josh Clarke (5), Todd Schintler (6), Steve Rooney (7), Jordan Lucas (8), Connor McCaig (9), James Henry (10).