How the BDCA’s nine tied games since 2000 ended

SPLIT THE POINTS: Huntly-North Epsom's Mitchell Whittle bowls during last season's tied game against Eaglehawk. Picture: DARREN HOWE
SPLIT THE POINTS: Huntly-North Epsom's Mitchell Whittle bowls during last season's tied game against Eaglehawk. Picture: DARREN HOWE

HOW the nine tied games in the Bendigo District Cricket Association throughout the 2000s have ended following last Saturday’s dramatic finish to the clash between Golden Square and Kangaroo Flat when the two sides couldn’t be split.

BDCA ties since 2000:

• Round 11, 2000-01

Strathdale-Maristians 9-259 tied White Hills 259

How it ended:White Hills’ tail-ender Glenn Roulston (13) was the last wicket to fall when caught behind by Suns’ wicket-keeper Geoff Findlay off the bowling of Sam Jubber (5-58), who claimed his fifth dismissal.

• Round 9, 2001-02

Bendigo 9-342 tied Bendigo United 7-342

Bendigo’s Roger Oates (55 n.o.) hit Bendigo United’s Nick Crawford (0-77) for two off the final ball of the match to force a 342-all tie after the Goers had earlier needed 50 off the last five overs. On day one the previous week Heath Behrens made an unbeaten 201 for the Redbacks – one of his three double-centuries.

• Round 11, 2003-04

Golden Square 9-207 tied White Hills 8-207

Square’s Jacob Hennigan (7) was run out by the Demons’ Shane Taylor going for the match-winning run.

• Round 5, 2004-05

Eaglehawk 7-190 tied Strathdale-Maristians 9-190

Needing two to win off the final ball, the Suns’ Cameron Taylor (15 n.o.) scored a single off the bowling of Richard Webb (2-34), leaving scores level at 190 apiece.

• Round 9, 2012-13

White Hills 115 tied Bendigo 9-115

The first tied game in the BDCA for eight seasons came when Bendigo’s Liam Gaskell (3 n.o.) scored a single off the Demons’ Brayden Klemke (1-35) on the final ball of their low-scoring one-day match.

• Round 11, 2012-13

Eaglehawk 172 tied Bendigo 8-172

Remarkably, the Goers played their second tie in three games when they finished all square with Eaglehawk, a fortnight after their thriller against White Hills. Nathan O’Neill (4) was on strike to Bendigo’s Mark Ryan (2-37) on the final ball with scores level and chipped a catch to Glenn Franzi.

• Round 9, 2014-15

Strathfieldsaye 158 & 2-96 tied Huntly-North Epsom 158

The Jets’ path to the 2014-15 grand final included a tie with the Power at Tannery Lane. Jets’ captain Ben Devanny took the best figures in the club’s history of 8-51 in the game, but it was Xavier Crone (1-44) who claimed the match-tying wicket when he bowled Matt Rule (28).

• Round 8, 2016-17

Eaglehawk 9-170 tied Huntly-North Epsom 170

Mitchell Whittle (0) was run out by Hawks’ wicket-keeper Matt Fitt attempting what would have been the match-winning run off a leg bye from the fifth ball of the final over. The Power’s last three wickets to fall against the team that would go on to win the flag were run-outs.

• Round 11, 2017-18

Golden Square 142 tied Kangaroo Flat 142

A superb bit of fielding from Golden Square’s Scott Trollope at mid-off to direct hit run-out Roos’ captain Brent Hamblin (44) and force a tie. The Roos still had more than 20 overs left unused.