Bendigo athletes crowned shield champions

Athletics Bendigo 40 plus women's squad. Picture: CONTRIBUTED

Athletics Bendigo 40 plus women's squad. Picture: CONTRIBUTED

ATHLETICS Bendigo’s own “golden girls” shone as they won the 40-plus class at Saturday’s running of the Athletics Victoria Shield final at Melbourne’s Lakeside Stadium.

At the end of a fiercely-fought competition, Flack Advisory Bendigo Region led the women’s 40-plus division on 7619 points from Waverley on 7351.

South Bendigo’s Carol Coad, Joan Self, Trudy Hromenko, Annette Curtis and Jennifer Payne joined forces with Bendigo Harriers’ Anne Buckley, Melinda Gilligan and Debby Kirne; University’s Melissa Douglas; and Eaglehawk’s Barb Bryant, Sandra Kadri and Leah Langtree to rack up many points in the 40-plus division.

The Shield final included 200m, 800m, 400m or 200m hurdles, hammer throw, and shot put.

Among the highs for Bendigo Region were Anne Buckley’s victory in the 40-plus 3000m and runner-up in the 800m; South Bendigo’s Yazmin Hayes won the under-16 3000m; Kyle Murphy from Bendigo Harriers won the under-20 triple jump and was third at high jump; Eaglehawk’s Denise Snyder won the open division two high jump and clubmate Olivia Taranto won the under-14 200m hurdles.

Denise Snyder

Denise Snyder

Barb Bryant and Jennifer Payne went one-two in the 40-plus 2000m walk; Debby Kirne was second in the 40-plus 3000m; Joan Self was runner-up in the 40-plus triple jump and high jump.

Trudy Hromenko was third in the 40-plus high jump; Eaglehawk’s James Bentley was third in the under-14 200m; and Gretel Holmes from Bendigo Harriers was third in the under-14 high jump.

The 4 x 200m relays included victory by the 40-plus women, second for under-14 girls, and third by the under-14 boys.

Placings for Bendigo region in Athletics Victoria Shield for the 2017-18 track and field season:

Men’s open div. 2: 3714 points, 6th.

Women’s open div. 2: 1370, 10th.

40-plus men: 6513, 7th.

40-plus women: 7619, 1st.

Under-20 men: 1285, 8th.

Under-20 women: 499, 6th.

Under-18 boys: 4585, 4th.

Under-18 girls: 2813, 10th.

Under-16 boys: 1327, 11th.

Under-16 girls: 3094, 9th.

Under-14 boys: 2415, 6th.

Under-14  girls: 3530, 5th.

Bendigo’s other representatives were Georgia Lee, Jorja Peace, Poppy Palmer, Eliza Sullivan, Nicholas Alexander, Harrison Boyd, Seth Hoskin, Logan Hromenko, Angus Skirka, (under-14); Jazlin Fear, Abbey Hromenko, Niah Langtree, Anastazia Robinson, Jorja Van Den Berg, Oliver Muggleton, Arshdeep Singh, Jesse Sullivan,  (under-16); Tiffany Bussem-Jorgensen, Chloe Green, Ella Dee Farnell, Chelsea Tofful, Asher Jones, Darcy Nelson, Declan Osborne, Riley Osborne, Jack Popplestone, Ben Powell, Ryan Shaw,  (under-18); Keely Farnell, Isaac Everett (under-20); Eric Baker, Martin Fryer, Craig Green, David Heislers, Terry Hicks, Geoff Jordan, Antony Langdon, David Lonsdale, Tim Sullivan (40-plus); Anthony Messerle, Peter Curtis, Lachlan Carr, Luke Matthews, Lachlan Van Schaik (open).

Because of a delay to the upgrade of the Latrobe University Bendigo athletics complex track, Bendigo Region will run a non-Shield competition next Saturday from 1.30pm.

Dubbed the “60 metres is back”, the program one timetable will include a 60m dash instead of the 100m races.

On-line entries via the Athletics Bendigo website by 9pm on Friday, or you can enter on day at LUBAC in Retreat Road at least 30 minutes before the scheduled start time of your event.