Castlemaine in good form at home in BTA premier league

CASTLEMAINE capitalised on home-court advantage to beat premier league opponent Strathfieldsaye in Saturday’s 15th round of the Bendigo Tennis Association season.

The match at Castlemaine was the only one to be completed as rain forced an early end to play at the William Loud complex in Nolan Street, Bendigo.

Castlemaine’s form was not indicative of second-last place in the eight-team competition.

The Maine made a great start as Isaac Watson and Brad Reeves teamed for a 3-6 6-4 10-8 win against Michael Smyth and Lachlan Perdon.

Castlemaine’s run rolled on as David Carre and Dave Wilson scored a 3-6 6-4 10-7 win against Nick Bath and Tova Penno.

In the singles, Watson outpointed Smyth, 6-2 6-2; and Carre beat Perdon, 6-3 6-1.

Bath beat Reeves, 6-4 6-7 10-8; and Penno achieved a 6-2 6-2 win against Wilson.

After final rally was played, Castlemaine led 4-9-57 to 2-6-52.

• At BTA headquarters, BTC Growl Weightlifting took on Spring Gully Words and Pictures Photography.

Weightlifting’s Sam Storer and Clark Forbes defeated Jarrod Epps and Steve Hardingham, 7-5 7-5.

Words and Pictures struck back as Robert Gallagher and Craig Nolan scored a 6-0 6-1 win against Alex Neave and Adelaide Annand.

• Taipans led Cobras in the clash of the BTC clubmates.

After toppling the ladder-leading South Bendigo the previous round, Taipans made a great start as Ryan Michell and Ryan Brook teamed for a 7-5 6-4 win against Jono Guy and Frank Ryan.

Cameron Bromfield and Dom Barton won the first set, 6-4, but were down 1-2 in the second against Cobras pair Heather Robbins and Kealy Osewald.

• The clash between Spring Gully Strath Eppalock Butterflies and South Bendigo was evenly poised.

Butterflies’ Matt Hartland and Danielle Bowles scored a 6-2 6-2 win against Jordan Hicks and Grant Leader.

South struck back as Mick Mulgrew and Brett Mulgrew achieved a 6-4 6-7 10-4 win against Simon Kelly and Bronwyn Osborne.

Section one pennant was completed at Bendigo Lawn Tennis Club. Winners were Spring Gully Phoenix, BTC Infants, and Axedale.