BDCA Twenty20 grand final berths up for grabs

Bailey Goodwin

Bailey Goodwin

Grand final berths in the Bendigo District Cricket Association Twenty20 competition will be decided on Tuesday night.

In pool one the equation is simple, whoever wins the White Hills versus Kangaroo Flat clash at White Hills will advance to the grand final at the QEO on Wednesday, January 17.

Pool two could be complex if Bendigo can find a way to upset Strathdale-Maristians at Bell Oval.

The Suns hold top spot with a 2-1 record and a powerful net run rate of 1.51.

Huntly-North Epsom also has two wins in second place, but the Power have the bye in the final round.

Bendigo United also has two wins and can jump to three wins and a potential grand final berth if it defeats Sandhurst at Harry Trott Oval.

Bendigo can draw level with Strathdale and Huntly-North Epsom if it defeats the Suns, but it will need to be a big win to make up the ground on net run rate.

The Suns (1.51) have clearly the best net run rate ahead of Huntly 0.51 and Bendigo 0.01. Bendigo United has a poor net run rate of -0.88.

Bendigo skipper Shane Koop hasn't given up hope.

"Our first aim is to win and we're going in with the mindset that we can turn the net run rate around,'' Koop said.

"We want to play finals, so we won't be turning up and going through the motions."

In pool one, Kangaroo Flat will start a warm favourite to advance to its second-straight T20 grand final.

The Roos scored dominant wins over Strathfieldsaye and Eaglehawk and then held off Golden Square thanks to a fine bowling performance.

White Hills has been weakened by the absence of skipper Mitch Winter-Irving.

For the Demons, much will rest on the shoulders of marquee player Brayden Stepien. The Carlton opening batsman clubbed 136 runs off 59 balls against Eaglehawk in round four.

In the other pool one game on Tuesday night, Eaglehawk hosts Strathfieldsaye at Canterbury Park. All games start at 5.15pm.