Midfielder wins Pioneers’ club champion award

Midfielder Darby Henderson was rewarded for another consistent season when he won the Neville Strauch Memorial Medal for the Rural Bank Bendigo Pioneers’ club champion.

Henderson, from Echuca, played every game in 2017 and was one of the Pioneer’s chief ball winners.

Henderson polled 78 votes to finish eight clear of ruckman Jobee Warde, with Angus Schumacher a further three votes back in third place.

“Darby was a well-deserved winner,’’ Pioneers talent manager Steve Sharp said.

“He had a very consistent season and his durability is a credit to him. He played every game in two years with the club.”

Kane Farrell (66), Mitchell Kemp (63), Bailey Henderson (55), Matthew Harvey and Brent Daniels (42), Austin Mertz (41), Paddy Dow (40) and Jacob Atley (31) rounded out the top 10.

The leading goal kicker award went to Mildura’s Lewin Davis, while Stratfieldsaye’s Bailey Henderson was named the Pioneers’ most valuable player.

The best club person award went to Brandon Reeves.