Visitors dominate locals in 3km event

Wil McCaig
Wil McCaig

VISITING athletes were in hot form in Tuesday night’s opening leg of the Adam Parker Electrical-backed Tuesday Night Series at the Flora Hill track.

Ballarat YCW’s Ben Fahy reigned supreme in the 3000m event at the Latrobe University Bendigo athletics complex in Retreat Road.

Fahy raced to victory in a time of 9:49.13.

Runner-up was South Melbourne’s Maxine Paholek, 10:11.55; as Bendigo University’s and the Flack Advisory Bendigo Region’s general manager Craig Green fought on to be third in 10:20.17.

Talented teenagers Wil McCaig from University, and Matilda Moore from Bendigo Harriers also impressed as they achieved times of 10:28.23 and 10:41.02 to be fourth and fifth.

Round two will be raced next Tuesday at LUBAC from 7pm.

Athletes will race the 3000m distance. South Bendigo is duty club.

Result of Tuesday night’s 3000m race:

Ben Fahy, 39, Ballarat YCW 9:49.13; Maxine Paholek, 18, South Melbourne 10:11.55; Craig Green 49, Bendigo University 10:20.17; Wil MCaig, 15, Uni. 10:38.23; Matilda Moore, 16, Bendigo Harriers 10:41.02; Rossi Evans, 53, BH 10:48.98; Greg Hilson, 48, South Bendigo 10:51.29; Trevor Kelly, 58, Eaglehawk 11:19.01; Brian Watson, 46, Uni. 11:50.98.

David Heislers, 52, Uni. 12:05.53; Peter Curtis, 23, SB 12:11.93; Tony Vlaeminck, 51, BH 12:20.98; Aaron Norton, 38, SB 12:22.85; Ingrid Douglass, 47, Uni. 12:27.44; Leanne Healey, 52, BH 12:39.78; Eric Baker, 55, BH 12:46.66; Charles Chambers, 63, Uni. 13:19.70; Yvette Tuohey, 26, BH 14:26.71.

Meanwhile, Bendigo region athletes will return to the Flora Hill track on Saturday for the first round of the summer season. Action gets underway at 1.30pm.