First BFNL reserves premiership for Storm

STRATHFIELDSAYE can now tick off the only football premiership that had been eluding it – the reserves.

Strathfieldsaye's reserves premiership team. Picture: DARREN HOWE

Strathfieldsaye's reserves premiership team. Picture: DARREN HOWE

The Storm won their first BFNL reserves premiership on Saturday with a 40-point victory over Eaglehawk, 11.15 (81) to 6.5 (41), at the QEO.

The third term proved decisive in the Storm’s win when they kicked 5.5 to 0.1 with the wind to turn what had been a 21-point lead at half-time into a 55-point advantage at the final change.

Zebb Murrell

Zebb Murrell

“It was unbelievable the way the boys played today, especially in the heat,” Storm coach Dale Cameron said.

“They could barely breathe in the first quarter because it was so hot, but it was the third quarter that really set it up for us.

“The most pleasing part of the third quarter was we laid 22 tackles and really put the pressure on them.”

Earlier, the game had got off to a lacklustre start as both sides managed just one behind apiece in the first quarter.

The first goal of the game didn’t come until the four-minute mark of the second term through the Storm’s Brenton Sharp.

Storm wingman Zebb Murrell won the AFL Victoria Country Medal.