Young guns from Bendigo Pioneers and Bendigo Thunder to take centre stage

Lewin Davis

Lewin Davis

SIX players from the Rural Bank Bendigo Pioneers and one from the Bendigo Thunder have the opportunity to impress talent scouts in “Young Guns” games this Saturday.

The men’s game at Port Melbourne from 11.30am will feature Pioneers-listed players Lewin Davis, Derek Smith, Will Hamilton, Mitch Kemp, Zac Denahy and Caleb Sheahan.

The Pioneers and Greater Western Victoria Rebels with their six have the most players selected from TAC clubs.

Meanwhile, Saturday’s women’s game from noon at Coburg will include this year’s Bendigo Thunder joint best and fairest winner Tiahna Cochrane.

Former Thunder player Cassie Blakeway, now playing with Geelong’s VFLW team, is also selected.