Bendigo Pioneers cop QEO thrashing from Murray Bushrangers

THE Rural Bank Bendigo Pioneers’ hoodoo against the Murray Bushrangers will extend into another year.

The Bushrangers handed the Pioneers’ their biggest loss of the TAC Cup season on Sunday, dishing out an 82-point hiding as they kept intact an unbeaten record against Bendigo that stretches back to 2005.

The Bushrangers won 23.18 (156) to 10.14 (74) – their 24th win in a row against the Pioneers.

There were encouraging signs early for the Pioneers when they kicked three of the first five goals and led by six points at quarter-time, 3.4 to 2.4.

However, three quick goals to the Bushrangers early in the second quarter set the tone for the rest of the game.

At one stage the Bushrangers piled on 19 goals to four from between quarter-time to midway into the last term as the margin threatened to blow out beyond 100 points, before the Pioneers – now 3-11 – finished with three of the final four goals.

In their sixth loss in a row, the Pioneers were unable to contain Murray tall forward Daniel Johnston, who booted eight goals.

Ruckman Jobee Warde, Darby Henderson (two goals) and Kane Farrell were best for the Pioneers.

• Match details:

Murray Bushrangers 2.4, 10.9, 18.11, 23.18 (156) d Bendigo Pioneers 3.4, 5.6, 7.10, 10.14 (74).

Goals – D. Henderson 2, R. Turner 2, T. Walters, A. Byrne, W. Donnan, L. Davis, K. Farrell, M. Harvey.

Best – J. Warde, D. Henderson, K. Farrell, B. Henderson, A. Byrne, L. Davis.