Wood, Trollope scoop awards

Golden Square's Tim Wood.
Golden Square's Tim Wood.

Tim Wood, Scott Trollope and Grant Connelly were the big winners at the Golden Square Cricket Club awards night.

Wood won the Haydn Pearce Memorial award and batting average after making 342 runs at 38, while Trollope was crowned first XI club champion.

Trollope made 296 runs with the bat and took 29 wickets at an average of 19.14 to also claim the bowling trophy.

In a season where he played his 200th first XI match for the Bulldogs, Connelly was presented with life membership.

Connelly’s premiership team-mate Scott Johnson, also a GSCC life member, presented the veteran all-rounder with his life membership.

Scott Trollope had a standout season.

Scott Trollope had a standout season.

Golden Square Cricket Club senior and junior awards:

Major winners – Haydn Pearce Memorial: Tim Wood. Junior club person award: Andrew Flood. Senior club person award: Paul Scullie. Life member inductee: Grant Connelly.

1st XI awards –  Batting average: Tim Wood 342 runs at 38.0. Bowling average: Scott Trollope 29 wickets at 19.14. Fielding award: Zane Keighran. Club champion: Scott Trollope.

2nd XI awards – Batting average: Mathew Christie 280 runs at 35.0. Bowling average:        Daniel Walker 11 wickets at 26.18. Fielding award: Mathew Christie. Club champion:         Mathew Christie.

3rd XI awards –  Batting average: Harley Dunlop 248 runs at 41.33. Bowling average:        Tom Francis 18 wickets at 12.83. Fielding award: Harley Dunlop. Club champion:          Harley Dunlop.

Under-18 awards – Batting average: Zane Keighran 354 runs at 44.25. Bowling average: Harrison Burke 15 wickets at 14.27. Fielding award: Braydon Vaz. Coaches award: Mitchell Kemp. Club Champion: Zane Keighran. Bruce Hetherington Award: Sheldon Burke.

Under-16A awards – Batting aggregate: Christopher Cox 129 runs. Batting average: Boyd Young 127 runs at 21.17. Bowling average: Caleb Flood 16 wickets at 14.0. Fielding award: Bridie Poole. Coaches award: Charlie McKenzie.       

Under-14A awards –  Batting average/aggregate: Tom Campbell 355 runs at 71.0. Bowling average/aggregate: Benjamin Derrick 9 wickets at 11.78. Fielding award: Hugh Cartwright. Coaches award: Mitchell Vaz.    

Under 12B awards – Batting aggregate: Alby Moore 108 runs. Batting average: Oliver Hinton 84 runs at 28. Bowling average/aggregate: Alby Moore 12 wickets at 4.58. Fielding award: Lachlan Bowen. Coaches award: Jay Leonard.