Smith named Borough’s club champion

Veteran all-rounder Andrew Smith capped a superb season by being named Eaglehawk Cricket Club’s club champion in a premiership year.

Eaglehawk's Andrew Smith.

Eaglehawk's Andrew Smith.

Smith made 527 runs and took 22 wickets to score 873 points in the Borough’s club champion award. He also won the bowling trophy, with a superb bowling average of 8.0.

Wicket-keeper Matt Fitt, who played a crucial role with the bat in the Hawks’ grand final win over Bendigo United, won the first XI batting average with 244 runs at an average of 61.

All-rounder Cam McGlashan won the captains award and the best player in finals trophy.

One of the highlights of the Hawks’ awards night was life membership being awarded to Anthony McQueen, Scott Jefferis and Tim Williams.

Eaglehawk Cricket Club awards:

1st XI - Batting average: Matt Fitt 61.0. Bowling average: Andrew Smith 8.0. Club Champion: Andrew Smith 873 points. Captains award: Cam McGlashan. Best in finals: Cam McGlashan.

2nd XI awards -  Batting average: Ryan Hon 43.43. Bowling average: Sam Fitt 15.14. Club champion: Brodie Hawke 511 points. Captains award: Bailey O'Connor. Best in Finals: Sam Fitt.

3rd XI awards - Batting average: Jason Abbott 31.82. Bowling average: Daryl Muns 13.5. Club champion: Jason Abbott 586 points. Captains award: Stefan Anderson.

Under-18 awards - Batting average: Josh Williams 25.54. Bowling average: Blake Hodgkiss: 13.47. Club champion: Ash Mayo 491 points. Coaches award: Noah Begg.

Twenty20 player of the year: Shane Murdoch. Presidents award: Aaron Monro. Club coach award: Noah Begg.

Life memberships: Anthony McQueen, Scott Jefferis, Tim Williams.