BDCA season preview: Bendigo United

Bendigo United's Ben Gunn.
Bendigo United's Ben Gunn.


CAPTAIN: Leigh McDermott.

LAST SEASON: 3rd – 7-5-2.

ARRIVALS: Jake Thrum, Josh Thurston.

DEPARTURES: Wayne Fidler.

SUMMARY: Bendigo United’s last premiership captain, Leigh McDermott, is back at the helm as skipper.

He assumes the captaincy again from star batsman and reigning BDCA Cricketer of the Year, Ben Gunn.

The only departure from last summer’s beaten semi-final team is veteran batsman Wayne Fidler, while Corey Bicknell will have a delayed start to the season.

New to the club that has played in the past 14-straight finals series is left-arm finger spinner Jake Thrum, who also shapes as an option as a replacement for Fidler opening the batting with Gunn.

The Redbacks have also added Josh Thurston, a bowling all-rounder from Tatura.

After a delayed start to the season last summer, veteran off-spinner Nick Crawford will take to the field from the outset this campaign.

The Redbacks have two of the BDCA’s most promising youngsters in Riley Treloar (bat) and Jack Bouwmeester (ball), while the BDCA’s all-time leading run-scorer in Heath Behrens is padding up for another season.

With Bouwmeester, Miggy Podosky, McDermott, Crawford, Gunn, Marcus Smalley, Thrum, Thurston and Alex Culveor, the bowling department looks particularly strong.