Holmes marks a great run with Sandhurst 

BLAIR Holmes was a runaway winner of this year’s Sandhurst Football Netball Club’s senior best and fairest award.

Holmes being presented with the Sandy McPherson-Leo Hartney Memorial award as Dragons team champion capped last night’s awards presentation at the Foundry Hotel’s Platinum Room.

In the race for the prestigious award, Holmes scored 326 votes.

Key defender Sam McGee marked his comeback to the game by being runner-up on 235 votes, with Tom Hartney and Pat Jennings locked on 220.

Best and fairest for the A-grade netball team was defender Chloe Watson.

Among the many highlights of the night was the presentation of the Perez Family memorial award for best clubperson to Kellie White.

Key defender Malcolm Borchard was awarded life membership.

A great year for the club included five premiership victories.

The Paul Francis-coached reserves beat Strathfieldsaye Storm by eight points.

It was the same margin in the under-18s as the Dragons’ young guns defeated Golden Square.

Coach Shane Meade was assisted by Daniel Francis, son of Paul Francis.

On the netball court, Sandhurst contested all five grand finals.

The maroon and blue won the A-reserve, B-reserve and 17-under premierships.

Sandhurst was runner-up in A-grade and B-grade.

Football award winners for the 2012 season:

Seniors – Sandy McPherson-Leo Hartney Memorial award, best and fairest: Blair Holmes. SportsPower award, runner-up: Sam McGee. Most consistent: Pat Jennings. Greene Family award, most courageous: Jake Ward. Jim Robertson Memorial award,  best first-year player: Codie Price. Goalkicking: Ricky Symes. Coaches award: Matt Thornton.220 Tom Hartney, 220 Pat Jennings, 211 Jake Ward, 149 Nick Stagg, 147 Tom McCarthy, 146 Lee Coghlan, 143 Matt Thornton, 140 Ricky Symes, 117 Jon Coghlan, 84 Corey Lobb, 83 Mitch Dole, 82 Malcolm Borchard, 77 Codie Price, 64 Jake Wilkinson, 62 Joel Wharton, 57 Michael Cornish, 29 Daniel Symes, 29 Jack Kennedy, 24 Harry O’Meara, 17 Isaac Broadbent, 16 Hamish Winter-Irving, 10 Alex Wharton, 7 Nathan Meade, 5 Keiran Nihill.

Votes for best and fairest award – 326 Blair Holmes, 235 Sam McGee, h

Reserves – Rising Sun Hotel, best and fairest: Tom Credlin. SportsPower award, runner-up: Nathan Meade. Most consistent: Paul Prime. Most courageous: Bryce Fitzpatrick. Goalkicking: Braden Hocking. Coaches award: Tom Hobbs.

Under-18 – Kevin Ellis Memorial award, best and fairest: Martin Leyden. SportsPower award, runner-up: Lachlan Ross. Most consistent: Nic Waterson. Most courageous: Isaac Broadbent. Goalkicking: Matt Gray. Coaches award: Liam Ireland.

Netball award winners:

A-grade – Best and fairest: Chloe Watson. Runner-up: Ebony Evans. Coaches award: Gabriella Greene.

A-reserve – Best and fairest: Lauren Nihill. Runner-up: Georgia Tatnall. Coaches award: Kate Grose and Erica Dalrymple-Monro.

B-grade – Best and fairest: Sarah Lyons. Runner-up: Eilish Dean. Coaches award: Tessie Dole.

B-reserve – Best and fairest: Brylie Parker. Runner-up: Lilliam Smith. Coaches award: Anna McGee.

17-under – Best and fairest: Chelsea Black. Runner-up: Brooke Bolton. Coaches award: Dannie Hoiles.  

DRAGONS BEST: Blair Holmes kicks in Sandhurst's win against Kangaroo Flat at the QEO.

DRAGONS BEST: Blair Holmes kicks in Sandhurst's win against Kangaroo Flat at the QEO.


Discuss "Holmes marks a great run with Sandhurst "

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.