Ladson wins Storm's best and fairest award 

RUCK-ROVER Matthew Ladson earned the Peter Crapper Memorial as Strathfieldsaye Football Netball Club’s senior champion for the 2012 season.

Ladson starred in many matches as Storm qualified for its first finals campaign at senior level in just the fourth year of the club’s history.

The Darryl Wilson-coached Storm knocked South Bendigo and Sandhurst out of the premiership race on the way to a third-placed finish after being beaten by Gisborne in the preliminary final.

Runner-up for the team champion award was Tom Barthlomew, while the elusive Lachlan Sharp kicked 60 goals.

Despite being sidelined for many matches because of a back injury and then broken arm, Sam Mildren earned the Most Valuable Player award.

Best and fairest for the reserves, which fought from the elimination final to be runner-up was Joshua Tuohey. Runner-up for the Brett Fitzpatrick-coached team was Dale Cameron, who was joint recipient of the Alan McDonald Medal as best and fairest for the league.

The first recipient of the Maurice Marks Memorial award as under-18 team champion was Tyler Williams.

Oliver Klemm, the George Symons medallist, was runner-up.

The A-grade netball best and fairest award was presented to Lucy Morcom. Runner-up for the Jody Warfe-coached team was Kristen Wilson, who earned the players player award.

Other team champions on the netball court were Lisa Evans, Jess Grylls, Chelsea Tresize and Jessica Moloney.

Best clubperson award was presented to Roger Barbetti.

Strathfieldsaye Storm Football Netball Club’s award winners for the 2012 season:

Seniors - Peter Crapper Memorial best and fairest: Matthew Ladson. Runner-up: Tom Barthlomew. Most consistent: Jake Hall. Most improved: Jacob Heavyside. Coaches award: Kellan Smith. Leading goalkicker: Lachlan Sharp, 60. Rising Star award: Jake Dickens and Joshua Tuohey. Best finals player: Nick Smith. Most Valuable Player: Sam Mildren.

Reserves - Best and fairest: Joshua Tuohey. Runner-up: Dale Cameron. Most consistent: Jake Dickens. Most versatile: Mitch Curtis. Most disciplined: Rhys Crapper. Rising star award: Ryan Weeding. Best finals player: Caillum Brady.

Under-18 - Maurice Marks Memorial best and fairest: Tyler Williams. Runner-up: Oliver Klemm. Most consistent: Angelo Romagnano. Most improved: Harry Crone. Coaches award: James Falconer. Leading goalkicker: Oliver Klemm, 48. Rising Star award: Nathan Jennings.

A-grade netball - Best and fairest: Lucy Morcom. Runner-up: Kristen Wilson. Coaches award: Lee West. Players best player award: Kristen Wilson.

A-reserve netball - Best and fairest: Lisa Evans. Runner-up: Elyse Morgan. Coaches award: Lisa Evans Players best player award: Lisa Evans.

B-grade netball - Best and fairest: Jess Grylls. Runner-up: Amanda Walters. Coaches award: Bonnie McIntyre. Players best player award: Kate Stratford.

B-reserve netball - Best and fairest: Chelsea Tresize. Runner-up: Tara Kerr. Coaches award: Kim Rowe. Players best player award: Chelsea Tresize.

17-under netball - Best and fairest: Jessica Moloney. Runner-up: Olivia Arandt. Coaches award: Jessey Wilson. Players best player award: Olivia Arandt.

Netball development squad - Most Valuable Player: Brittany Ralph and Chloe O’Donahoo. Most consistent: Eliza Boyd. Coaches award: Lilly O’Riley.

SUPER SEASON: Strathfieldsaye Storm's Matthew Ladson.

SUPER SEASON: Strathfieldsaye Storm's Matthew Ladson.


Discuss "Ladson wins Storm's best and fairest award "

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.