Lapthorne wins road classic in Tasmania 

A NATIONAL road cycling champion, Darren Lapthorne powered to victory in yesterday’s Launceston to New Norfolk Classic in Tasmania.

Inclement weather meant the race distance was cut from 208km to 65km.

Racing for Drapac Professional Cycling, Lapthorne led three Tasmanians – Nathan Earle, Jai Crawford and Ben Grenda – across the line as he won in 1 hour 29.18 minutes.

The top 10 included Sam Witmitz, winner of last Sunday’s Eaglehawk to Pyramid Hill.

For Lapthorne and Drapac Professional Racing, which has gained Skoda as a major backer, the focus switches to tomorrow’s start to the six-day Caterpillar Underground Mining Tour of Tasmania.

Racing starts in Hobart when teams contest an 18km time trial to the top of Mount Wellington.

Lapthorne’s team-mates in Tasmania include Lachlan Norris from Barkers Creek. 

The Tour of Tasmania is the fourth and final leg in the Scody Cup series. 


Discuss "Lapthorne wins road classic in Tasmania "

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.