Green, Gilmore earn Eaglehawk FNC club champion awards  

GUN midfielder Brady Green and goalshooter Abby Gilmore were the big winners at last night’s Eaglehawk Football Netball Club best and fairest vote count and presentation night.

In a dramatic finish to counting of votes for the George Ilsley Medal, Green (pictured) won the senior club champion award by two votes from captain and 2010 Michelsen Medal winner Josh Bowe.

Gilmore’s victory capped a superb season in which she scored the winning goal in the A-grade grand final against Sandhurst, the club she crossed from to play for the Two Blues this year.

In the senior footy award, Green led Bowe, 81-76, with votes from the last two rounds to be called at the Liborius Centre.

The Hawks’ voting system was three cards on a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis.

Both polled five votes in the 18th and final round with Green named the medallist on 94 from Bowe, 92, and key defender Tim Hill on 59 votes.

The John Ledwidge Coaches Award was presented to Tyson Findlay by the Hawks second-year senior coach Luke Monaghan.

A key goaler and key defender, Abby Gilmore and Heather Oliver were first and second in the A-grade best and fairest award. Gilmore scored 43 votes with Oliver on 39 votes. Classy defender Lauren Ryan was third on 35 votes.

Next best for the team which won the club’s first A-grade netball premiership in 13 years were Christie Rogers, 23; Brittany Eastman, 19; Carmel Mulcahy, 14; and coach Amanda O’Neill, 12. Best in the finals was Heather Oliver. Eastman earned the coaches award.

The Alan Williams Medal for the reserves best and fairest was presented to Tom Harrington, 69 votes. Runner-up was Matt Willox, 51, from coach and key forward Ross Pointon, 49. The coaches award was presented to Andrew Dewhurst.

It was a unique moment at the under-18s best and fairest presentation as the Darren Thompson Medal was presented by the multiple senior club championship winner to his son, Sam.

Thompson finished on 107, with Brodie Hawke, 106, the runner-up. Aaron and Justin Bateson were equal third on 104 votes.

Joint coaches Aiden Metcalf and Dwayne Smith presented the coaches award to Barkley Jackson.

In A-reserve netball, Amy Jackman polled 37 votes to win the club champion award.

Runner-up was Jarileey Higgs, 32, from Ellen McRae, 28. Coaches award was presented to Ellen McRae. Best in finals was Samantha Wyatt.

It was a close call in B-grade as Ashlea Jenkyn took top honours on 42 votes. Georgina Hyett and Kate O’Brien were joint runners-up on 40, with Kahlia Osborne in third place on 19.

The coaches award was earned by Jordan Arthur. Best in finals was Ashlea Jenkyn.

The B-reserve club champion was Stacee Burns on 36 votes.

Joanna O’Brien, 32, was runner-up. Equal third placegetters were Georgie Gibbs and Emily Hill on 29 votes. The coaches award was presented to Maddy Combridge.

Toni Burns was runaway winner of the 17-under award on 64 votes. Runner-up was Jessica Ford, 32, from Renee McCluskey, 30. Montana Dean earned the coaches award.

SUPER SEASON: Brady Green charrges toward goal in Eaglehawk's win against Kangaroo Flat.

SUPER SEASON: Brady Green charrges toward goal in Eaglehawk's win against Kangaroo Flat.


Discuss "Green, Gilmore earn Eaglehawk FNC club champion awards  "

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.