City of Greater Bendigo council nominations close

TODAY is the last chance for people to nominate for upcoming City of Greater Bendigo elections. 

Twenty people have already signed up as candidates, vying for nine seats on the council across three wards. 

Eppalock has the most candidates with eight, followed by seven in Lockwood and five in Whipstick. 

The nomination period ends at noon, followed by the ballot draw at 2pm. 

“Today is the real start of the campaign,” Bendigo returning officer Tony McDowell said. 

“The candidates will now go out and work on their campaigns.”

Mr McDowell said it was hard to predict the final number of candidates, but said the election office in the Beehive Plaza had been busy since nominations opened last week. 

“Candidate statements will be put on the Victorian Electoral Commission website at the weekend,” Mr McDowell said. 

“The ballot packs will be sent out from October 9 to 11 and are then due back by 6pm on Friday, October 26.”

Nominations cost $250. 

Members of the public can attend the drawing of the ballot, which will take place at 2pm today at the election office in the Beehive Plaza at 18 Pall Mall, Bendigo. 

A list of candidates is also posted online and in print at the electoral and council offices. 

Thirty-nine candidates nominated for the last council elections in 2008, up from 24 in 2004. 

Candidates who have nominated so far:

Eppalock Ward:

Mark Weragoda

Wayne McKay

Rod Campbell

George Flack

Alec Sandner

Helen Leach

Stuart Fraser

Tim Bardsley

Lockwood Ward:

Bruce Phillips

Barry Lyons

Karen Corr

Rod Fyffe

Karel Zegers

Wendy Radford

Elise Chapman

Whipstick Ward:

Peter Cox

James Williams

Lisa Ruffell

Elaine Harrington

Jennifer Mitchell-Sharp


Discuss "City of Greater Bendigo council nominations close"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.